COMMITTEE MINUTES for EDUCATION

Date:	February 09, 2009	Place:	Rm 103, Supreme Court Chamber		
Convened:	2/9/2009 3:35 Recessed: PM	Reconvened:		Adjourned:	2/9/2009 4:40 PM
Present:	Representatives Wendt-CH, Ficken-VC, May-RM, Abdul-Samad, Bukta, Cohoon, Cownie, Dolecheck, Ford, Forristall, Kelley, Koester, Mascher, Miller, L., Palmer, Raecker, Schulte, Steckman, Sweeney, Thede, Tymeson, Winckler				
Absent:	None				
Excused:	Representative Willems				
The meeting convened at 3:35 pm.					
The attendance was taken.					
The minutes of the last meeting were approved.					
The chair assigned the following bills. HF 158 (Ch) Thede, Mascher, Schulte HF 161 (Ch) Willems, Kelley, Sweeney HF 163 (Ch) Ficken, Palmer, Tymeson HJR 4 (Ch) Winckler, Wendt, Dolecheck HF 166 (Ch) Mascher, Palmer, Koester HF 182 (Ch) Steckman, Winckler, Koester HF 183 (Ch) Winckler, Willems, Tymeson HF 186 (Ch) Winckler, Willems, Miller L. HF 188 (Ch) Thede, Wendt, Schultz HF 194 (Ch) Winckler, Mascher, Cownie HSB 159 (Ch) Ficken, Wendt, May					
The Chair called on Representative Winckler for consideration of HF 40.					
The Chair recognized Representative May for Amendment 701 to HF 40.					
The Chair recognized Representative Winckler to discuss Amendment 701.					
The Chair recognized Representative May for final comments on Amendment 701.					
Representative May moved Amendment 701. Amendment 701 to HF 40 failed: 9 aye, 13 nay, and 1 absent. Voting ayes were Representatives May, Cownie, Forristall, Koester, Miller L., Raecker, Schulte, Sweeney, and Tymeson. Voting nays were Representatives Wendt, Ficken, Abdul-Samad, Bukta, Cohoon, Dolecheck, Ford, Kelley, Mascher, Palmer, Steckman, Thede, and Winckler. Absent was Representative Willems.					
The Chai	nair recognized Representative Raecker for Amendment 201 to HF 40.				
The Chair recognized Representative Winckler for comments on Amendment 201.					
Representative Raecker moved the Amendment. The Amendment passed by voice vote. Voting ayes were Representatives Wendt, Ficken, May, Abdul-Samad, Bukta, Cohoon, Cownie, Dolecheck, Ford, Forristall, Kelley, Koester, Mascher, Miller L., Palmer, Raecker, Schulte, Steckman, Sweeney, Thede, Tymeson, and Winckler. Absent was Representative Willems.					
The Chair recognized Representative Cohoon for comments of HF 40.					
The Chair recognized Representative Sweeney. Representative Sweeney asked Representative Winckler to yield for a question about the effect on alternative schools.					
The Chair recognized Representative May for a question.					

The Chair recognized Representative Thede for a comment. The Chair recognized Representative Ford for a comment. The Chair recognized Representative Kelley for a comment. The Chair recognized Representative Abdul-Samad for a comment. The Chair recognized Representative Cownie for a comment. The Chair recognized Representative Koester for a comment. The Chair recognized Representative Raecker for a comment. Representative Raecker asked Representative Winckler to yield to a question about web based class courses. The Chair recognized Representative Steckman for a comment. The Chair recognized Representative Ford for a comment. The Chair recognized Representative Mascher for a comment. The Chair recognized Representative Winckler for final comments. The Chair moved HF 40. The vote was taken with 12 ayes, 10 nays, and 1 absent. Voting ayes were Representatives Wendt, Ficken, Abdul-Samad, Bukta, Dolecheck, Ford, Kelley, Mascher, Palmer, Steckman, Thede, and Winckler. Voting nayes were Representatives May, Cohoon, Cownie, Forristall, Koester, Miller L. Raecker, Schulte, Sweeney, and Tymeson. Representative Willems was

absent. HF 40, with Amendment 201, passed and will go to the House Floor.

Representative Bukta adjourned the meeting at 4:40.

Representative Roger F. Wendt

Erica L. Shannon, Committee Secretary