COMMITTEE MINUTES for EDUCATION

Date: April 11, 2023 Location: RM 116

Convened: *11:50 AM*

Adjourned: 12:25 PM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Senators Rozenboom-CH, Taylor, J.-VC, Quirmbach-RM, Celsi,

Cournoyer, Donahue, Evans, Garrett, Giddens, Gruenhagen, Kraayenbrink, Salmon, Sinclair, Trone Garriott, Westrich

Absent:

Excused: Senator Zaun

Chair Rozenboom called the meeting to order at 11:52 am.

The roll was taken silently. Senator Zaun was recorded as excused. The minutes of the previous meeting were approved unanimously.

The following Governor Appointees were introduced.

For the Iowa Autism Council:

Rhonda Kortenkamp - Sen. Kraayenbrink

Stephanie Boyle - Sen. Kraayenbrink

Bill Carlson - Sen. Kraayenbrink

Michelle Grant - Sen. Kraayenbrink

For the School Budget Review Committee:

Dr. Craig Hansel - Sen. Cournoyer

For the Board of Educational Examiners:

Timothy Bower - Sen. Evans

Dr. Davis Eidahl - Sen. Evans

Rhonda McRina - Sen. Evans

For the State Board of Education:

Mary Meisterling - Sen. Evans

As the Director of Department of Education:

Chad Aldis - Sen. Evans

For the Iowa Higher Education Loan Authority:

Gary Steinke - Sen. J. Taylor

For the Iowa State Board of Regents:

Nancy Dunkel - Sen. Rozenboom

Robert Cramer - Sen. Rozenboom

Sherry Bates - Sen. Rozenboom

James Risewick - Sen. Rozenboom

A motion to place the appointees to the En Bloc Confirmation calendar was made.

Senator Quirmbach moved that 6 of the nominees be voted on individually.

The Democrats caucused from 12-12:10pm.

Senator Rozenboom reminded the body the motion was on the table. The Democrats caucused 12:13 pm-12:20pm.

The following nominees were voted on individually.

Gary Steinke with Senators Quirmbach, Celsi and Donahue voting Nay.

Chad Aldis with Senators Celsi, Donahue, Giddens and Trone Garriott voting Nay.

Nancy Dunkel unanimously passed.

Robert Cramer with Senators Quirmbach, Celsi, and Donahue voting Nay.

Sherry Bates unanimously passed.

James Risewick unanimously passed.

The 9 remaining appointees passed unanimously.

Senator Evans moved we adjourn at 12:25pm.

Senator Ken Rozenboom	
Sarah Moore, Committee Secretary	