House Committee

COMMITTEE MINUTES for EDUCATION

Date: *March 2, 2023*

Location: RM 102, Sup. Ct. Consult

Convened: *11:20 AM*

Adjourned: 11:45 AM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Representatives Wheeler-CH, Johnson-VC, Steckman-RM, Boden, Bradley, Buck, Cahill, Collins, Ehlert, Fry, Gehlbach, Gustoff, Holt, Hora, Ingels, Kurth, Madison, Matson, Moore, T., Osmundson, Sorensen, Staed, Stone

Absent:

Excused:

Chairman Wheeler announced at 11 a.m. Republicans and Democrats would caucus immediately.

Chairman Wheeler called the meeting to order at 11:23 a.m.

Roll call was taken with 23 members and no one absent.

The minutes from the previous meeting were approved.

Chairman Wheeler read the assignment of bills.

• <u>HF 437</u> – Steckman-CH, Johnson, Sorensen

- HSB 222 Wheeler-CH, Cahill, Johnson
- HF 391 Gustoff-CH, Gehlbach, Steckman

<u>HF 391</u>

• Chairman Wheeler recognized Representative Gustoff for opening comments for <u>HF</u> <u>391</u>.

• There was discussion.

• Representative Gustoff was recognized for closing remarks and moved <u>HF 391</u>.

• Chairman Wheeler moved <u>HF 391</u> as a committee bill on a roll call vote of 15 yeas (Representatives Wheeler, Johnson, Boden, Bradley, Collins, Fry, Gehlbach,

Gustoff, Holt, Hora, Ingels, Moore, T., Osmundson, Sorensen, Stone) and 8 nays (Representatives Steckman[¬], Buck, Cahill, Ehlert, Kurth, Madison, Matson, Staed). <u>HF 437</u>

• Chairman Wheeler recognized Representative Steckman for opening comments for $\underline{\text{HF 437}}$.

• There is an amendment.

• Representative Steckman introduced and moved Amend .817 to $\underline{\text{HF} 437}$ and requested a short form vote.

• Amend .817 to <u>HF 437</u> passed short form.

• The committee moved back to $\underline{\text{HF 437}}$ as amended and there was discussion.

• Representative Steckman was recognized for closing remarks and moved <u>HF 437</u>, as amended.

• Chairman Wheeler moved <u>HF 437</u> as amended as a committee bill on a roll call vote of 12 yeas (Representatives Wheeler¬, Johnson¬, Steckman¬, Buck, Cahill, Collins, Ehlert, Kurth, Madison, Matson, Sorensen, Staed) and 11 nays (Representatives Boden, Bradley, Fry, Gehlbach, Gustoff, Holt, Hora, Ingels, Moore, T., Osmundson, Stone).

With no further business to come before the committee, Chairman Wheeler motioned to adjourn, seconded by Gustoff. The meeting was adjourned at 11:42 a.m.

Representative Skyler Wheeler

Jamie Spangler, Committee Secretary