COMMITTEE MINUTES for STATE GOVERNMENT

Date: February 23, 2023 Location: RM 103, Sup. Ct. Chamber

Convened: **4:40 PM**Adjourned: **5:20 PM**

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Representatives Bloomingdale-CH, Harris-VC, Nielsen-RM, Baeth,

Bergan, Bossman, Collins, Cooling, Dunwell, Gjerde, Golding, Johnson, Kaufmann, Lundgren, Matson, Sexton, Siegrist, Srinivas,

Steckman, Wills, J., Wulf, Young, Zabner

Absent:

Excused:

Chairwoman Bloomingdale called the committee to order at 4:40 p.m., after both parties returned from caucus.

Roll call was taken and quorum was present with Representative Kaufmann excused until he arrived.

The previous meeting minutes were approved.

Chairwoman Bloomingdale read the electronically assigned bill:

HSB 197 – Harris-Ch, Bergan, Nielsen

Chairwoman Bloomingdale recognized Representative Dunwell for opening comments on <u>HF 90</u>. There was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. Dunwell moved <u>HF 90</u>. Chairwoman Bloomingdale moved <u>HF 90</u> as a committee bill. <u>HF 90</u> passed on a unanimous roll call vote of 22 ayes, 0 nays and 1 excused (Representative Kaufmann).

Chairwoman Bloomingdale recognized Representative Harris for opening comments on HF 242. There was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. Harris moved HF 242. Chairwoman Bloomingdale moved HF 242 as a committee bill. HF 242 passed on a roll call vote of 12 ayes (Representative Bloomingdale, Harris, Bossman, Collins, Dunwell, Golding, Johnson, Lundgren, Sexton, Siegrist, Wills, Wulf) 10 nays (Representative Nielsen, Bergan, Baeth, Cooling, Gjerde, Matson, Srinivas, Steckman, Young, Zabner) 1 excused (Representative Kaufmann).

Chairwoman Bloomingdale recognized Representative Collins for opening comments on <u>HF 263</u>. There was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. Collins moved <u>HF 263</u>. Chairwoman Bloomingdale moved <u>HF 263</u> as a committee bill. <u>HF 263</u> passed on a unanimous roll call vote of 23 ayes, 0 nays.

Chairwoman Bloomingdale recognized Representative Kaufmann for opening comments on HF 356. There was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. Kaufmann moved HF 356. Chairwoman Bloomingdale moved HF 356 as a committee bill. HF 356 passed on a roll call vote of 15 ayes (Representative Bloomingdale, Harris, Bergan, Bossman, Collins, Dunwell, Golding, Johnson, Kaufmann, Lundgren, Sexton, Siegrist, Wills, Wulf, Young) 8 nays (Representative Nielsen, Baeth, Cooling, Gjerde, Matson, Srinivas, Steckman, Zabner).

Chairwoman Bloomingdale recognized Representative Wills for opening comments on HJR 4. Rep. Wills indicated there was amendments. Chairwoman Bloomingdale recognized Rep. Zabner for opening comments on Amendment .572. There was discussion. Rep. Zabner moved the amendment and a division and a record roll call was requested. The amendment failed with 8 ayes (Representative Nielsen, Baeth, Cooling, Gjerde, Matson, Srinivas, Steckman, Zabner) 15 nays (Representative Bloomingdale, Harris, Bergan, Bossman, Collins, Dunwell, Golding, Johnson, Kaufmann, Lundgren, Sexton, Siegrist, Wills, Wulf, Young). Chairwoman Bloomingdale recognized Rep. Zabner for opening comments on Amendment .571.

There was discussion. Rep. Zabner moved the amendment and a division and a record roll call was requested. The amendment failed with 8 ayes (Representative Nielsen, Baeth, Cooling, Gjerde, Matson, Srinivas, Steckman, Zabner) 15 nays (Representative Bloomingdale, Harris, Bergan, Bossman, Collins, Dunwell, Golding, Johnson, Kaufmann, Lundgren, Sexton, Siegrist, Wills, Wulf, Young). Chairwoman Bloomingdale recognized Rep. Zabner for opening comments on Amendment .569. There was discussion. Rep. Zabner moved the amendment and a division and a record roll call was requested. The amendment failed with 8 ayes (Representative Nielsen, Baeth, Cooling, Gjerde, Matson, Srinivas, Steckman, Zabner) 15 nays (Representative Bloomingdale, Harris, Bergan, Bossman, Collins, Dunwell, Golding, Johnson, Kaufmann, Lundgren, Sexton, Siegrist, Wills, Wulf, Young). That disposed with all amendments. There was discussion on HJR 4. With no further discussion, Rep. Wills moved HJR 4. Chairwoman Bloomingdale moved HJR 4 as a committee bill. HJR 4 passed on a roll call vote of 12 ayes (Representative Bloomingdale, Harris, Bossman, Collins, Dunwell, Johnson, Kaufmann, Lundgren, Sexton, Siegrist, Wills, Wulf) 11 navs (Representative Nielsen, Baeth, Bergan, Cooling, Gierde, Golding, Matson, Srinivas, Steckman, Young, Zabner).

Chairwoman Bloomingdale recognized Representative Siegrist for opening comments on HSB 146. Rep. Siegrist indicated there was an amendment. Chairwoman Bloomingdale recognized Rep. Siegrist for opening comments on Amendment .526. There was discussion. Rep. Siegrist moved the amendment short form. The amendment passed. There was discussion on HSB 146 as amended. With no further discussion, Rep. Siegrist moved HSB 146 as amended. Chairwoman Bloomingdale moved HSB 146 as amended as a committee bill. HSB 146 as amended passed on a roll call vote of 15 ayes (Representative Bloomingdale, Harris, Bergan, Bossman, Collins, Dunwell, Golding, Johnson, Kaufmann, Lundgren, Sexton, Siegrist, Wills, Wulf, Young) 8 nays (Representative Nielsen, Baeth, Cooling, Gjerde, Matson, Srinivas, Steckman, Zabner).

Chairwoman Bloomingdale recognized Representative Bergan for opening comments on HSB 181. There was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. Bergan moved HSB 181. Chairwoman Bloomingdale moved HSB 181 as a committee bill. HSB 181 passed on a roll call vote of 22 ayes and 1 nay (Representative Lundgren). Chairwoman Bloomingdale recognized Representative Wills for opening comments on HSB 182. There was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. Wills moved HSB 182. Chairwoman Bloomingdale moved HSB 182 as a committee bill. HSB 182 passed on a unanimous roll call vote of 23 ayes and 0 nays.

Chairwoman Bloomingdale recognized Representative Collins for opening comments on HSB 184. Rep. Collins indicated there was an amendment. Chairwoman Bloomingdale recognized Rep. Collins for opening comments on Amendment .562. There was discussion. Rep. Collins moved the amendment short form. The amendment passed. There was discussion on HSB 184 as amended. With no further discussion, Rep. Collins moved <u>HSB 184</u> as amended. Chairwoman Bloomingdale moved <u>HSB 184</u> as amended as a committee bill. <u>HSB 184</u> as amended passed on a

ve Sexton

unanimous roll call vote 23 ayes and 0 nays.
With no further business to come before the Committee, Representative moved to adjourn at 5:20p.m.
Seconded by Chairwoman Bloomingdale.
Representative Jane Bloomingdale
Danielle Heartsill, Committee Secretary