CHAPTER 1065

STATE TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION MEMBERSHIP TERMS $H.F.\ 2195$

AN ACT relating to members of the state transportation commission, and including effective date and retroactive applicability provisions.

Be It Enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Iowa:

Section 1. Section 69.19, Code 2018, is amended to read as follows:

69.19 Terms of appointments confirmed by the senate.

All terms of office of positions which are appointed by the governor, have a fixed term, and are subject to confirmation by the senate shall begin at 12:01 a.m. on May 1 in the year of appointment and expire at 12:00 midnight on April 30 in the year of expiration, except terms of office of members of the state transportation commission shall begin and expire as provided in section 307A.1A, subsection 1.

Sec. 2. Section 307A.1A, Code 2018, is amended to read as follows:

307A.1A Transportation commission.

- 1. There is created a state transportation commission which shall consist of seven members, not more than four of whom shall be from the same political party. The governor shall appoint the members of the state transportation commission for a term of four years beginning at 12:01 a.m. on July 1 in the year of appointment and ending as provided by section 69.19 expiring at 12:00 midnight on June 30 in the year of expiration, subject to confirmation by the senate.
- 2. The commission shall meet in May July of each year for the purpose of electing one of its members as chairperson.
- Sec. 3. EFFECTIVE DATE. This Act, being deemed of immediate importance, takes effect upon enactment.
- Sec. 4. RETROACTIVE APPLICABILITY. This Act applies retroactively to members of the state transportation commission appointed by the governor and confirmed by the senate on or after January 1, 2018. The term of office of any current member of the state transportation commission appointed by the governor and confirmed by the senate prior to January 1, 2018, shall be extended from 12:00 midnight on April 30 to 12:00 midnight on June 30 in the year of expiration of the member's term of office.

Approved April 2, 2018