## **CHAPTER 13**

## AGRICULTURAL DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY

S.F. 429

**AN ACT** placing the agricultural development authority within the department of agriculture and land stewardship.

Be It Enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Iowa:

Section 1. Section 175.3, subsection 1, paragraphs a and c, Code 2011, are amended to read as follows:

- a. The agricultural development authority is <u>established within the department of agriculture and land stewardship. The agency 1 is constituted as a public instrumentality and agency of the state exercising public and essential governmental functions.</u>
- c. The powers of the authority are vested in and exercised by a board of ten members with nine members appointed by the governor subject to confirmation by the senate. The treasurer of state secretary of agriculture or the treasurer's secretary's designee shall serve as an ex officio nonvoting member. No more than five appointed members shall belong to the same political party. As far as possible the governor shall include within the membership persons who represent financial institutions experienced in agricultural lending, the real estate sales industry, farmers, beginning farmers, average taxpayers, local government, soil and water conservation district officials, agricultural educators, and other persons specially interested in family farm development.

Approved March 30, 2011

1

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> See chapter 131, §55, 158 herein