## **CHAPTER 222**

## BANKING DAYS H.F. 20

AN ACT to exclude Sunday and all legal public holidays as banking days for purposes of determining a bank's midnight deadline.

Be It Enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Iowa:

Section 1. Section 554.4104, subsection 1, paragraph c, Code 1991, is amended to read as follows:

c. "Banking day" means that part of any day on which a bank is open to the public for carrying on substantially all of its banking functions but for the purposes of determining a bank's midnight deadline, shall not include Saturday, Sunday, or any holiday when the federal reserve banks are not performing check clearing functions;

Approved May 29, 1991

## CHAPTER 223

## CONGRESSIONAL AND LEGISLATIVE REDISTRICTING S.F. 546

AN ACT providing for congressional and legislative redistricting effective for the 1992 general election and providing an effective date.

Be It Enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Iowa:

Section 1. Section 40.1, Code 1991, is amended by striking the section and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

40.1 CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS.

The state of Iowa is hereby organized and divided into five congressional districts, which shall be composed, respectively, of the following counties:

- 1. The first district shall consist of the counties of Cedar, Clinton, Johnson, Jones, Linn, Louisa, Scott, and Muscatine.
- 2. The second district shall consist of the counties of Worth, Mitchell, Howard, Winneshiek, Allamakee, Cerro Gordo, Floyd, Chickasaw, Butler, Bremer, Fayette, Clayton, Grundy, Black Hawk, Buchanan, Delaware, Dubuque, Jackson, Tama, Benton, and Iowa.
- 3. The third district shall consist of the counties of Story, Marshall, Jasper, Poweshiek, Warren, Marion, Mahaska, Keokuk, Washington, Adams, Union, Clarke, Lucas, Monroe, Wapello, Jefferson, Henry, Des Moines, Lee, Van Buren, Davis, Appanoose, Wayne, Decatur, Ringgold, Taylor, and Page.
- 4. The fourth district shall consist of the counties of Harrison, Shelby, Audubon, Guthrie, Dallas, Polk, Pottawattamie, Cass, Adair, Madison, Mills, Montgomery, and Fremont.
- 5. The fifth district shall consist of the counties of Lyon, Osceola, Dickinson, Emmet, Kossuth, Winnebago, Hancock, Palo Alto, Clay, O'Brien, Sioux, Plymouth, Cherokee, Buena Vista, Pocahontas, Humboldt, Wright, Franklin, Hardin, Hamilton, Webster, Calhoun, Sac, Ida, Woodbury, Monona, Crawford, Carroll, Greene, and Boone.
- Sec. 2. Section 41.1, Code 1991, is amended by striking the section and inserting in lieu thereof the following: