and after its publication in the Iowa Citizen and Iowa Take effect. State Journal.

Approved March 20th, 1858.

I hereby certify that the foregoing Act was published in the Iowa Citizen March \$1st, 1858, and in the Iowa State Journal March 27th, 1859.

ELIJAH SELLS, Secretary of State.

CHAPTER 86.

SENATORIAL APPORTIONMENT.

AN ACT to re-apportion the State into Senatoral Districts.

- SECTION 1. Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Iowa, The ratio for the apportionment of Ratio-17,200. the State into Senatorial Districts shall be one Senator for each seventeen thousand two hundred inhabitants, or fraction thereof exceeding one half in each Senatorial District.
- SEC. 2. The county of Lee shall constitute the first 1st Dist., 2. District and shall have two Senators.
- SEC. 3. The county of Van Buren shall constitute 2d Dist., 1. the second District and shall have one Senator.
- SEC. 4. The county of Davis shall constitute the 3d Dist., 1. third District and shall have one Senator.
- SEC. 5. The county of Appanoose shall constitute 4th Dist., 1. the fourth District and shall have one Senator.
- SEO. 6. The counties of Wayne and Decatur shall 5th Dist., 1. constitute the fifth District and shall have one Senator, and the votes for Senator in said District shall be re-canvass in Decatured to the county seat of Decatur county.
- SEC. 7. The counties of Ringgold, Taylor, Adams, 6th Dist., 1. Union and Clarke shall constitute the sixth District and shall have one Senator. The votes for Senator in the Canvass in Martsixth District shall be returned to the county seat of On. Union county.
- SEC. 8. The counties of Page, Fremont, Mills and 7th Dist., 1. Montgomery shall constitute the seventh District and

- can'ves in Mills. shall have one Senator; the votes for Senator in the seventh District shall be returned to the county seat of Mills county.
- SEC. 9. The county of Des Moines shall constitute the eighth District and shall have one Senator.
- SEC. 10. The county of Henry shall constitute the
- 9th Dist., 1. ninth District and shall have one Senator.
- SEC. 11. The county of Jefferson shall constitute the 10th District and shall have one Senator.
- SEC. 12. The county of Wapello shall constitute the 11th Dist., 1. eleventh District and shall have one Senator.
- SRC. 13. The counties of Mouroe and Lucas shall constitute the twelfth District and shall have one Senator, and the votes for Senator in the twelfth District shall be returned to the county seat of Mouroe county.
- SEC. 14. The county of Louisa shall constitute the thirteenth District and shall have one Senator.
- 13th Dist., 1. Sec. 15. The county of Muscatine shall constitute the fourteenth District and shall have one Senator.
- SEC. 16. The county of Washington shall constitute the fifteenth District and shall have one Senator.
- SEC. 17. The county of Keokuk shall constitute the sixteenth District and shall have one Senator.
- SEC. 18. The county of Mahaska shall constitute the seventeenth District and shall have one Senator.
- SEO. 19. The county of Marion shall constitute the eighteenth District and shall have one Senator.
- SEC. 20. The county of Scott shall constitute the nineteenth District and shall have one Senator.
- SEC. 21. The county of Clinton shall constitute the twentieth District and shall have one Senator.
- SEO. 22. The county of Cedar shall constitute the twenty-first District and shall have one Senator.
- SEO. 23. The county of Johnson shall constitute the twenty-second District and shall have one Senator.
- Sec. 24. The county of Polk shall constitute the twenty-third District and shall have one Senator.
- SEC. 25. The county of Jackson shall constitute the twenty-fourth District and shall have one Senator.

- SEC. 26. The county of Jones shall constitute the 25th Dist. 1. twenty-fifth District and shall have one Senator.
- SEC. 27. The county of Linn shall constitute the 26th Dist., 1. twenty-sixth District and shall have one Senator.
- SEC. 28. The county of Dubuque shall constitute the 27th Dist., 2. twenty-seventh District and shall have two Senators.
- SEC. 29. The county of Clayton shall constitute the 25th Dist., 1. twenty-eighth District and shall have one Senator.
- SEC. 30. The county of Warren shall constitute the 29th Dist., 1. twenty-ninth District and have one Senator.
- SEC. 31. The counties of Madison, Dallas and Adair 80th Dist., 1. shall constitute the thirtieth District and have one Senator, and the votes of said District cast for Senator shall Canvass in Madbe canvassed at the county seat of Madison county.
- SEC. 32. The counties of Pottawattame, Cass, Har-Sist Dist., 1. rison, Shelby, Audubon and Guthrie shall constitute the thirty-first District and have one Senstor, and the votes Canvass in Potcast for Senator shall be canvassed at the county seat of tawattamic. Pottawattamic county.
- SEC. 33. The counties of Monona, Crawford, Car-824 Dim., 1. roll, Greene, Woodbury, Sac, Ida, Calhoun, Webster, Humboldt, Pochahontas, Buena Vista, Cherokee, Plymouth, Sioux, O'Brien, Clay, Palo Alto, Kossuth, Emmett, Dickinson, Osceola and Buncombe shall constitute the thirty-second District, and shall have one Senator, and the votes cast in said District for Senator shall be Canvasse in Webcanvassed at the county seat of Webster county.
- SEC. 34. The counties of Iowa and Powesheik shall 38d Dist., 1. constitute the thirty-third District and have one Senator, and the votes cast shall be canvassed at the county seat Canvase in Powesheik county.
- SEC. 35. The counties of Jasper and Marshall shall 34th Dist., 1. constitute the thirty-fourth District and have one Senator, and the votes cast therein for Senator shall be can-Canviss in Jasper vassed at the county seat of Jasper county.
- SEC. 36. The counties of Benton and Tama shall some District. 1. constitute the thirty-fifth District and have one Senator, and the votes cast for Senator in said District shall be ton. canvassed at the county seat of Benton county.
 - SEC. 37. The counties of Grundy, Black Hawk, But-

30th Dist., 1. ler and Franklin shall constitute the thirty sixth District and have one Senator, and the votes cast therein for said officer shall be canvassed at the county seat of Butler county.

Sec. 38. The counties of Delaware and Buchanan shall constitute the thirty-seventh District and have one Senator, and the votes cast in said District for Senator shall be canvassed at the county seat of Delaware county.

Sec. 39. The counties of Fayette and Bremer shall constitute the thirty-eighth District and have one Sena-Canvasa at Fay. tor, and the votes cast for said office therein shall be

ette. canvassed at the county seat of Fayette county.

Sec. 40. The counties of Alamakee and Winnesheik shall constitute the thirty-ninth District and have one Canvass in Will be canvassed at the county seat of Winnesheik county.

Sec. 41. The counties of Howard, Chickasaw, Mitchell, Floyd, Cerro Gordo, Worth, Hancock, Winnebago and Wright shall constitute the fortieth District and

canvisin Floyd have one Senator, and the votes cast in said District for said office shall be canvassed at the county seat of Floyd county.

Sec. 42. The counties of Story, Boone, Hardin and Hamilton shall constitute the forty-first District and have one Senator, and the votes for said officer shall be canvassed at the county seat of Story county.

SEC. 43. No District herein constituted shall be repeach district, resented in the next General Assembly by a greater number of Senators than herein provided for.

Approved March 20th, 1858.