CHAPTER 158

CITIES OF HILLS, NEW SHARON, MONTROSE, HARRIS, BUCKEYE, WESTSIDE, MELVIN, REMSEN, LAWTON, HARTWICK AND PORTSMOUTH

H. F. 752

AN ACT to legalize the incorporations of the cities of Hills, New Sharon, Montrose, Harris, Buckeye, Westside, Melvin, Remsen, Lawton, Hartwick and Portsmouth.

Whereas, the cities of Hills, Iowa, which is located in Johnson county; New Sharon, Iowa, which is located in Mahaska county; Montrose, Iowa, which is located in Lee county; Harris, Iowa, which is located in Osceola county; Buckeye, Iowa, which is located in Hardin county; Westside, Iowa, which is located in Crawford county; Melvin, Iowa, which is located in Osceola county; Remsen, Iowa, which is located in Plymouth county; Lawton, Iowa, which is located in Woodbury county; Hartwick, Iowa, which is located in Poweshiek county; and Portsmouth, Iowa, which is located in Shelby county, do not have on file with the secretary of state their articles of incorporation; and

Whereas, the public officials of these cities have been unable to provide the specific documents of the articles of incorporation in the county records but have searched the records of their respective cities and have found records which would indicate that these respective cities have been incorporated; and

Whereas, some doubt has arisen as to the validity of the incorporation of the cities of Hills, New Sharon, Montrose, Harris, Melvin, Buckeye, Westside, Remsen, Lawton, Hartwick, and Portsmouth and actions taken by such cities and that such incorporations and acts should be legalized and the matters once and for all be put to rest; Now Therefore,

Be It Enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Iowa:

Section 1. That all of the proceedings relating to the incorporation of the cities of Hills in 1906, New Sharon (formerly known as Sharon) in 1871, Montrose in 1857, Harris in 1903, Melvin in 1901, Buckeye in 1901, Westside in 1871, Remsen in 1889, Lawton in 1906, Hartwick in 1912, and Portsmouth in 1883 in connection with and pertaining to the incorporation of the cities of Hills, New Sharon, Montrose, Harris, Melvin, Buckeye, Westside, Remsen, Lawton, Hartwick, and Portsmouth and the actions taken by such cities as incorporated cities since 1975 to the extent the actions depend for their validity and legality upon the validity and legality of the incorporation of are hereby validated, legalized, and confirmed and the incorporations are valid, legal, and binding upon cities, the citizens of the cities, and all persons doing business within the cities of Hills, New Harris, Melvin, Buckeye, Westside, Remsen, Lawton, Sharon, Montrose, Hartwick, and Portsmouth.