CHAPTER 94†

CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS

S. F. 236

AN ACT relating to congressional districts.

Be It Enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Iowa:

- 1 Section 1. Section forty point one (40.1), Code 1971, is amended 2 as follows:
- 3 40.1 Districts designated. The state of Iowa is hereby organized 4 and divided into six congressional districts, which shall be composed, 5 respectively, of the following counties:
- 1. The first district shall consist of the counties of Benton, Powe-shiek, Iowa, Johnson, Scott, Washington, Louisa, Muscatine, Jefferson, Henry, Des Moines, Van Buren and Lee.
- 9 2. The second district shall consist of the counties of Winneshiek, 10 Allamakee, Fayette, Clayton, Delaware, Dubuque, Linn, Jones, Jack-11 son, Cedar and Clinton.
- 3. The third district shall consist of the counties of Worth, Mitchell, Howard, Hancock, Cerro Gordo, Floyd, Chickasaw, Wright, Franklin, Butler, Bremer, Hamilton, Hardin, Grundy, Black Hawk, Buchanan, Marshall and Tama.
- 4. The fourth district shall consist of the counties of Polk, Jasper,
 Marion, Mahaska, Keokuk, Lucas, Monroe, Wapello, Appanoose and
 Davis.
- 5. The fifth district shall consist of the counties of Carroll, Greene, Boone, Story, Harrison, Shelby, Audubon, Guthrie, Dallas, Pottawattamie, Cass, Adair, Madison, Warren, Mills, Montgomery, Adams, Union, Clarke, Fremont, Page, Taylor, Ringgold, Decatur and Wayne.
- 6. The sixth district shall consist of the counties of Lyon, Osceola, Dickinson, Emmet, Kossuth, Winnebago, Sioux, O'Brien, Clay, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Cherokee, Buena Vista, Pocahontas, Humboldt, Wood-
- 26 bury, Ida, Sac, Calhoun, Webster, Monona and Crawford.

Approved March 6, 1971.

†See Editor's note, page iii.

CHAPTER 95

STATE SENATORIAL AND REPRESENTATIVE DISTRICTS

H. F. 732

AN ACT to establish the composition of the general assembly and provide for election of the members thereof.

Be It Enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Iowa:

- 1 Section 1. The membership of the general assembly is hereby 2 fixed at fifty senators and one hundred representatives. The gen-
- 3 eral assembly declares that in establishing districts to be repre-4 sented by senators and representatives serving in the sixty-fifth
- 5 and subsequent general assemblies, it adheres to the following

6 principles: