Nothing herein contained shall affect the terms of office of officials now holding certificates of election from the various congressional districts of Iowa.

Approved May 5, 1961.

CHAPTER 69

STATE SENATORIAL DISTRICTS

S. F. 504

AN ACT relating to the state senatorial districts.

Be It Enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Iowa:

SECTION 1. Section forty-one point one (41.1), Code 1958, is hereby repealed and the following enacted in lieu thereof: The number of senators in the general assembly is hereby fixed at fifty, and they are hereby apportioned among the several counties according to the number of inhabitants in each, and under said apportionment the state is hereby divided into fifty senatorial districts, each district to have one senator, as follows: 8 1. Lee county shall constitute the first district. Appanoose county, Davis county and Van Buren county shall 9 10 constitute the second district. 3. Lucas county, Monroe county and Wayne county shall consti-11 12 tute the third district. 4. Decatur county, Ringgold county and Union county shall con-13 stitute the fourth district. 14 5. Adams county, Montgomery county and Taylor county shall constitute the fifth district. 15 16 17 Fremont county, Mills county and Page county shall constitute 18 the sixth district. 19 Des Moines county shall constitute the seventh district. 20 Henry county and Jefferson county shall constitute the eighth 21 district.

22

23

24 **2**5

26

27

28 29

30

31 32

33

34

35

36 37

Wapello county shall constitute the ninth district. 10. Louisa county and Washington county shall constitute the tenth

11. Keokuk county and Mahaska county shall constitute the eleventh district.

12. Marion county and Warren county shall constitute the twelfth

13. Adair county, Clarke county and Madison county shall constitute the thirteenth district.

14. Audubon county, Cass county and Shelby county shall constitute the fourteenth district.

15. Pottawattamie county shall constitute the fifteenth district.

16. Cedar county and Muscatine county shall constitute the sixteenth district.

17. Scott county shall constitute the seventeenth district. 18. Clinton county shall constitute the eighteenth district. 40

41

44 45

46

47 48

49

50 51

52 53

54 55

56

57

58 59

61

62 63

64 65

66

67 68

69 70 71

72

73

74 **75**

76 77

78 79

82

83

84

- 38 19. Jackson county and Jones county shall constitute the nineteenth 39 district.
 - 20. Linn county shall constitute the twentieth district.
 - 21. Johnson county shall constitute the twenty-first district.
- 42 22. Benton county and Tama county shall constitute the twenty-43 second district.
 - 23. Iowa county and Poweshiek county shall constitute the twentythird district.
 - 24. Marshall county shall constitute the twenty-fourth district.
 - 25. Jasper county shall constitute the twenty-fifth district.
 - 26. Story county shall constitute the twenty-sixth district. 27. Polk county shall constitute the twenty-seventh district.
 - 28. Boone county and Greene county shall constitute the twentyeighth district.
 - 29. Dallas county and Guthrie county shall constitute the twentyninth district.
 - 30. Carroll county, Crawford county and Sac county shall constitute the thirtieth district.
 - 31. Harrison county and Monona county shall constitute the thirtyfirst district.
- 32. Dubuque county shall constitute the thirty-second district.
 33. Buchanan county and Delaware county shall constitute the 60 thirty-third district.
 - 34. Black Hawk county shall constitute the thirty-fourth district.
 - 35. Hamilton county and Hardin county shall constitute the thirtyfifth district.
 - 36. Webster county shall constitute the thirty-sixth district.
 37. Buena Vista county, Calhoun county and Pocahontas county shall constitute the thirty-seventh district.
 - 38. Cherokee county, Ida county and Plymouth county shall constitute the thirty-eighth district.
 - 39. Woodbury county shall constitute the thirty-ninth district.
 40. Allamakee county and Clayton county shall constitute the fortieth district.
 - 41. Fayette county and Winneshiek county shall constitute the forty-first district.
 - $4\dot{2}$. Bremer county, Butler county and Grundy county shall constitute the forty-second district.
 - 43. Franklin county, Humboldt county and Wright county shall constitute the forty-third district.
 - 44. Chickasaw county and Floyd county shall constitute the fortyfourth district.
- 80 45. Howard county, Mitchell county and Worth county shall con-81 stitute the forty-fifth district.
 - 46. Cerro Gordo county shall constitute the forty-sixth district.
 - 47. Hancock county, Kossuth county and Winnebago county shall constitute the forty-seventh district.
- 85 48. Clay county, Emmet county and Palo Alto county shall constitute the forty-eighth district. 86
- 87 49. Dickinson county, O'Brien county and Osceola county shall constitute the forty-ninth district. 88

50. Lyon county and Sioux county shall constitute the fiftieth dis-

89

```
90
    trict.
 1
      SEC. 2. This Act shall be effective as to the nomination and elec-
    tion of the senators from the following districts in the year 1962:
 2
 3
      First (1st)
 4
      Sixth (6th)
 5
      Seventh (7th)
 6
      Eighth (8th)
 7
      Ninth (9th)
 8
      Tenth (10th)
 9
      Fourteenth (14th)
10
      Seventeenth (17th)
11
      Eighteenth (18th)
12
      Twenty-second (22nd)
13
      Twenty-third (23rd)
14
      Twenty-fifth (25th)
15
      Twenty-seventh (27th)
      Thirtieth (30th)
16
17
      Thirty-first (31st)
18
      Thirty-second (32nd)
19
      Thirty-fourth (34th)
20
      Thirty-fifth (35th)
21
      Thirty-seventh (37th)
22
      Forty-fourth (44th)
23
      Forty-fifth (45th)
24
      In all other senatorial districts the Act shall be effective as to the
25
    nomination and election of senators for full four-year terms in the
    year 1964, except that in the nineteenth (19th), twenty-sixth (26th)
26
27
    and forty-third (43rd) districts senators shall be elected for two-
28
    vear terms.
29
      This Act shall not affect the terms of office of senators now hold-
30
    ing certificates of election from the present senatorial districts. In
31
    the event of any vacancy occurring in any senatorial district after
    July 4, 1961 it shall be filled by the electors of the district as it existed
32
33
    at the time the vacancy occurred. For the legislative session in 1963
    and at any special session thereafter prior to 1965 the following
34
35
    counties are hereby attached for the purpose of representation in
    the senate to the present districts designated opposite the name of
36
37
    the county:
38
      Winneshiek to the fortieth
39
      Muscatine to the twenty-third
      Keokuk to the fourteenth
40
      Greene to the thirty-first
41
42
      Grundy to the thirty-ninth
43
      Humboldt to the twenty-seventh
44
      Wright to the forty-third.
```

Approved May 5, 1961.