- ing the procedure outlined in chapter three hundred forty-seven (347) 9 and particularly section three hundred forty-seven point two (347.2)
- 10 with the commissioners acting in the same manner and fashion as the
- hospital trustees under chapter three hundred forty-seven (347), and 11 12 with the procedure in all other respects to be identical."

Approved April 5, 1961.

## CHAPTER 68

### CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS

#### S. F. 480

AN ACT to repeal section forty point one (40.1), Code 1958, and to enact a substitute therefor, redistricting the state into seven (7) congressional districts.

# Be It Enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Iowa:

SECTION 1. Section forty point one (40.1), Code 1958, is hereby 1 2

repealed and the following enacted in lieu thereof:

3 The state of Iowa is hereby organized and divided into seven (7) 4 congressional districts, which shall be composed, respectively, of the 5 following counties:

6 First district shall consist of the counties of Iowa, Johnson, Cedar, 7 Scott, Washington, Louisa, Muscatine, Jefferson, Henry, Des Moines,

8 Van Buren and Lee.

12 13

14

15 16 17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

9 Second district shall consist of the counties of Winneshiek, Alla-10 makee, Fayette, Clayton, Buchanan, Delaware, Dubuque, Linn, Jones, 11 Jackson and Clinton.

Third district shall consist of the counties of Winnebago, Worth, Mitchell, Howard, Hancock, Cerro Gordo, Floyd, Chickasaw, Wright, Franklin, Butler, Bremer, Hamilton, Hardin, Grundy and Black Hawk.

Fourth district shall consist of the counties of Marshall, Tama, Benton, Jasper, Poweshiek, Warren, Marion, Mahaska, Keokuk, Union, Clarke, Lucas, Monroe, Wapello, Ringgold, Decatur, Wayne, Appanoose and Davis.

Fifth district shall consist of the counties of Webster, Boone, Story and Polk.

Sixth district shall consist of the counties of Lyon, Osceola, Dickinson, Emmet, Kossuth, Sioux, O'Brien, Clay, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Cherokee, Buena Vista, Pocahontas, Humboldt, Woodbury, Ida, Sac and Calhoun.

Seventh district shall consist of the counties of Monona, Crawford, Carroll, Greene, Harrison, Shelby, Audubon, Guthrie, Dallas, Cass, Pottawattamie, Adair, Madison, Mills, Montgomery, Adams, Fremont, Page and Taylor.

1 SEC. 2. This Act shall be effective as to the nomination and election of representatives in congress for this state in 1962 and succeeding years. Nothing herein contained shall affect the law concerning the filling of vacancies, should any occur in the eighty-seventh (87th) congress.

Nothing herein contained shall affect the terms of office of officials now holding certificates of election from the various congressional districts of Iowa.

Approved May 5, 1961.

## CHAPTER 69

## STATE SENATORIAL DISTRICTS

S. F. 504

AN ACT relating to the state senatorial districts.

**2**5

26

27

28 29

30

33

37

Be It Enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Iowa:

SECTION 1. Section forty-one point one (41.1), Code 1958, is hereby repealed and the following enacted in lieu thereof: The number of senators in the general assembly is hereby fixed at fifty, and they are hereby apportioned among the several counties according to the number of inhabitants in each, and under said apportionment the state is hereby divided into fifty senatorial districts, each district to have one senator, as follows: 8 1. Lee county shall constitute the first district. Appanoose county, Davis county and Van Buren county shall 9 10 constitute the second district. 3. Lucas county, Monroe county and Wayne county shall consti-11 12 tute the third district. 13 4. Decatur county, Ringgold county and Union county shall constitute the fourth district. 14 5. Adams county, Montgomery county and Taylor county shall constitute the fifth district. 15 16 17 Fremont county, Mills county and Page county shall constitute 18 the sixth district. 19 Des Moines county shall constitute the seventh district. 20 Henry county and Jefferson county shall constitute the eighth 21 district. 22 Wapello county shall constitute the ninth district. 23 10. Louisa county and Washington county shall constitute the tenth 24

11. Keokuk county and Mahaska county shall constitute the eleventh district.

- 12. Marion county and Warren county shall constitute the twelfth
- 13. Adair county, Clarke county and Madison county shall constitute the thirteenth district.
- 14. Audubon county, Cass county and Shelby county shall constitute 31 32 the fourteenth district.
  - 15. Pottawattamie county shall constitute the fifteenth district.
- 16. Cedar county and Muscatine county shall constitute the six-34 teenth district. 35 36
  - 17. Scott county shall constitute the seventeenth district.
  - 18. Clinton county shall constitute the eighteenth district.