## RESOLUTION NO 13.

## MAIL FACILITIES.

Resolved by the General Assembly of the State of Iowa:

Instruction. That our senators be instructed, and our representatives in Congress be requested to use their influence to procure additional mail facilities in the State of Iowa, as follows:

- 1st. Oskaloosa to Kanesville—coaches. From Oskaloosa, in Mahaska county, via Knoxville and Pleasantville, in Marion county, to Indianola, in Warren county, to Winterset, in Madison county, to Kanesville, in Pottawattamie county, in post coaches three times a week.
- 2d. Newton to Corydon and Princeton, Mo. From Newton, in Jasper county, via Pella, Amsterdam, Knoxville, in Marion county, via Chariton. in Lucas county, to Corydon, in Wayne county, thence to Princeton, in Missouri, via Grand river post office, once a week.
- 3d. Ottumwa to Chariton. From Ottumwa to Chariton, in Lucas county, via Albia, tri-weekly in two-horse coaches.
- 4th. Pella to Indianola. From Pella, in Marion county, to Indianola, in Warren county, via Red Rock, weekly.
- 5th. Ft. Desmoines to Chariton. From Fort Des Moines, in Polk county, to Chariton, in Lucas county, via Indianola in Warren county.
- 6th. Mt. Pleasant to Oskaloosa. From Mount Pleasant, in Henry county, via Trenton in said county, Deedsville, in Jefferson county. Brighton, in Washington county, to Oskaloosa, in Mahaska county, twice a week in two-horse coaches.
- 7th. **Dubuque to West Union**. From Dubuque to West Union, New Wine, via Coles- [209] burgh, Elkport, and Elkador, in two-horse coaches, twice a week.
- 8th. Colesburgh to West Union. From Colesburgh to West Union, via Yankee settlement, Strawberry Point, and Westfield.
- 9th. Alexandria to Ft. Des Moines. From Alexandria, in Missouri, via Bloomfield and Drakesville, in Davis county, Albia in Monroe county, and Knoxville, in Marion county, to Fort Des Moines, in Polk county, twice a week in two-horse coaches.
- 10th. Ft. Madison to Rising Sun. From Fort Madison, in Lee county. via Denmark, in said county, Parish, Danville, through the centre of Pleasant Grove township, in Des Moines county, to Rising Sun, in Louisa county.
- 11th. Marietta to Hardin. From Marietta, in Marshall county, to the county seat of Hardin county, weekly.
- 12th. Ft. Des Moines to Bellepoint—Boonsboro to Dacotah. From Fort Des Moines via Laytonville, Polk City, Hopkins' Grove Rapids, and Belle Point, tri-weekly; also, from Boonsborough to Dakotah, once a week.
- 13th. Drakesville to Kanesville. From Drakesville, in Davis county, via Unionville, Chariton, Douglass, and Lewis, to Kanesville, in Pottawattamie county, twice a week.
- 14th. Keokuk to Ft. Des Moines. From Keokuk, in Lee county, to Fort Des Moines, in Polk county, via Charleston, Primrose, Birmingham, Agency City, Dahlonega, Oskaloosa, Pella, and Monroe, daily in four-horse coaches.
- 15th. Sabula to Anamosa. From Sabula, in Jackson county, by way of Maquoketa, in said county, and Thomas Green's, in Jones county, to Anamosa, the county seat of Jones county.

- 16th. Iowa City to Montezuma. From Iowa City to Montezuma, in Poweshiek county, via Old Man's Creek, and Millersburg.
- 17th. Farmington to Centreville. From Farmington, Van Buren county, via Bloomfield, in Davis county, to Centreville, in Appanoose county, triweekly.
- 18th. Supply. For supplying the post-office at Pleasant Grove, Des Moines county, with a regular weekly mail from Dodgeville, or Danville post-office, in said county.
- 19th. Change. For a change of post-route No. 4667, so that the same may be carried by way of Richmond, Washington county.
- 20th. Change. For a change in the post route now running from [210] Wapello, in Louisa county, to Washington, in Washington county, via Hope farm, so that the same may run from Wapello to Washington, by way of Columbus City.
- 21st. Tri-weekly. For tri-weekly service on mail route No. —, from Savannah, in Missouri, to Kanesville, Iowa.
- 22d. Monona to Lansing. From Monona, in Clayton county, to Lansing, in Alamakee county, by way of Hardin and Makee.
- 23d. Delhi to Garnavillo, also to Cedar Rapids—Independence to Bradford—Cedar Falls to Fort Dodge—Delhi to West Union—extraordinary service. From Delhi, in Clayton county, by Colesburg, to Garnavillo, in Clayton county. From Delhi, in Delaware county, to Cedar Rapids, in Linn county. From Independence, in Buchanan county, to the county seat of Chickasaw county. From the county seat of Black Hawk to Fort Dodge. From Delhi, in Delaware county, to West Union, in Fayette county. For extra service from Dubuque to Cedar Falls, in Black Hawk county, by a four horse coach, three times a week. From Delhi to Fort Desmoines, by Quasqueton, three times a week.
- 24th. Burlington to Muscatine. From Burlington, via Hawkeye and Black Hawk, to Muscatine, three times a week.
- 25th. Muscatine to Knoxville. From Muscatine, via Columbus City, Washington, Sigourney and Oskaloosa, to Knoxville, in Marion county, in two horse coaches, three times a week.
- 26th. Ft. Madison to Farmington. From Ft. Madison, via West Point, Dover, Primrose, to Farmington, in two-horse coaches, three times a week.
- 27th. Ft. Desmoines to Council Bluffs City. From Fort Desmoines, via Lewis, to Council Bluffs, tri-weekly, in four horse coaches.

## Resolved,

28th. Request to forward. That the secretary of state be requested to forward a copy of the foregoing resolutions to each of our senators and representatives in Congress.

Approved, January 22, 1853.