[251] RESOLUTION No. 27.

SCHOOL LAWS.

JOINT RESOLUTION authorizing the superintendent of public instruction to compile the school laws.

Resolved by the General Assembly of the State of Iowa,

Laws to be copied—pub. in code. That all laws now in force in relation to common schools, the university and school lands, be compiled and arranged under the direction of the superintendent of public instruction, and as so compiled and arranged, that the same shall be printed and published in their appropriate places in the revised code.

Approved, February 5, 1851.

RESOLUTION No. 28.

MAIL FACILITIES.

JOINT RESOLUTION asking an increase of mail facilities.

Resolved by the General Assembly of the State of Iowa,

Mail routes. That our senators be instructed and our representatives in congress be requested to use their influence to procure the passage of an act of congress securing to the people of the state of Iowa the following named mail routes.

1. Colesburgh to West Union. From Colesburgh in Delaware county by way of Sodomilla, Strawberry Point, Lightsville and Centreville to West Union in Fayette county.

2. Guttenberg to Louisville. From Guttenberg, in Clayton county by way of Elkador, Claremont and Elrodian to Louisville, in Winneshiek county.

3. Monona to Ft. Clarke. From Monona, in Clayton county by way of Louisville, in Winneshiek county, to Fort Clark on the Desmoines river.

4. McGregor to Hardin. From McGregor, in Clayton county by way et Tom Corwin, Point Rock Prairie, Columbus, Launing and Union Prairie to Hardin, in Alamakee county.

[252] 5. Hardin to Decorah. From Hardin, in Alamakee county, by way of Fullers, to Decorah, in Winneshiek county.

6. Garnavillo to Clayton. From Garnavillo, to Clayton in Clayton county.

7. Monona to W. Union. From Monona, in Clayton county, by way of Claremont to West Union, in Fayette county.

8. Muscatine to Montezuma. From Muscatine City, in Muscatine county, by way of Yatton and Richmond, to Wassonville in Washington county; thence via Deep Creek to Montezuma, in Poweshiek county.

9. Sabula to Anamosa. From Sabula, by way of Spragueville, Maquoketa, Bear Creek, in Jackson county and Knight's settlement in Jones county, 10 Anamosa, in Jones county.

10. Centreville to Chariton. From Centreville, in Appanoose county, to Chariton in Lucas county.

11. Albia to Centreville. From Albia, in Monroe county, to Centreville, in Appanoose county.

12. Canton to C. Bluffs. From Canton, in Lucas county, to Council Bluffs. on the Missouri river.

13. Lancaster to Albia. From Lancaster, in Keokuk county to Albia, in Monroe county.

14. Keokuk to Oskaloosa. From Keokuk, in Lee county, by way of Charles ton, Primrose, Birmingham, Fairfield, Libertyville, Agency City, Dahlonega and Kirkville, to Oskaloosa, in Mahaska county.

15. Union Mills to Montezuma. From Union Mills, in Mahaska county. to Montezuma, in Poweshiek county.

16. Columbus City to Pedee. From Columbus City, in Louisa county, by way of Samuel Nichols, West Liberty to Pedee, in Cedar county.

17. Salem to Mt. Pleasant. From Salem. in Henry county, to Mount Pleasant in Henry county.

18. Quasqueton to Ft. Desmoines. From Quasqueton, in Buchanan county. to Fort Desmoines, in Polk county by way of the county seat of Marshall county.

19. Cedar Falls to Ft. Clarke. From Cedar Falls, in Blackhawk county. to Fort Clark, on the Desmoines river.

20. .Independence to Big Woods. From Independence, in Buchanau county, to the Rice trading house, in the Upper Big Woods of Cedar river.

21. Albany, Ill. to Anamoosa. From Albany, in the state of Illinois, by way of Camanche, Centre Grove and Bloomfield to Anamosa, in Jones county. Iowa.

[253] 22. Centreville to county seat of Fremont. From Centreville, in Appanoose county, by way of the county seats of Wayne county, Decatur county. Ringgold county, Taylor county, Page county and Fremont county.

23. Lancaster to Sugar Grove. From Lancaster, in Keokuk county, by way of Indianopolis, in Mahaska county, to Montezuma, in Poweshiek county. to Timber creek and the county seat of Marshall county, by the way of Sugar grove in the county of Poweshiek.

24. Davenport to Iowa City. From Davenport, by way of Blue Grass, in Scott county, Center Grove, in Muscatine county, John Bordston, Rochester, Pedee, in Cedar county, to Iowa City in Johnson county.

25. Sabula to Pioneer Grove. From Sabula, in Jackson county, by way of Elk river and Oziah Hunters, in Clinton county, and Center grove. Dewitt and Onion Grove, to Pioneer Grove, in Cedar county.

26. Cassville to Millville. From Cassville. in Grant county, Wisconsin. to Millville, in Clayton county, Iowa.

27. Decorah to St. Paul, Min. ter. From Decorah, in Winneshiek county. Iowa, to St. Paul, in Minnesota territory.

28. Sodomillo to Elkador. From Sodomillo, by way of Cox creek, to Elkader, in Clayton county.

29. Centreville to county seat of Marshall. From Centerville, in Fayette county, by way of Cedar Falls, in Blackhawk county, to the county seat of Marshall county.

30. Rochester to Mason's grove. From Rochester, in Cedar county, to Mount Vernon, in Linn county, by way of Woodbridge and Mason's Grove.

31. Delhi to Colesburgh. From Delhi, in Delaware county, to Colesburgh. in same county.

32. Delhi to Fayetteville. From Delhi, in Deleware county, by the way of Akers mill, Turners mill, to Fayetteville, in Fayette county.

33. Bentonsport to Keosauqua. From Bentonsport, in Van Buren county. by way of south Bentonport, to Keosauqua, in said county.

34. Ft. Desmoines to Athens, Mo. From Fort Des Moines, by way of Wintersett, to Council Bluffs, and from Wintersett, in Madison county, to Athens. in Grundy county, Missouri.

35. Port Byron, Ill. to Leclaire. From Port Byron, in Illinois, to LeClaire. in Scott county, Iowa.

36. Knoxville to Wintersett. From Knoxville, in Marion county, via Indianola, to Wintersett, in Madison county.

[254] 37. Bloomfield to Wellsville. From Bloomfield. in Davis county. to Wells' mill, in Appanoose county.

38. Delhi to Marion. From Delhi, in Delaware county, to Marion, in Linn county.

39. Knoxville to Red Rock. From Knoxville, in Marion county, to Red Rock, in said county.

40. Kanesville to Big Grove. From Kanesville, in Pottawattamie county, to the Big Grove, in Crawford county.

41. Dodgeville to New London. From Dodgeville, in Des Moines county. to New London, in Henry county, via Pleasant Grove, in Des Moines county.

42. Ottumwa to Memphis, Mo. From Ottumwa, in Wapello county, via Bloomfield, in Davis county, to Memphis, in Scotland county, Missouri.

43. Keokuk to Farmington. From Keokuk to Farmington, via Des Moines river.

44. Toolsboro to Wapello. From Toolsboro. in Louisa county. to Wapello. via Florence, in said county.

45. Salem to Farmington. From Salem, in Henry county, to Farmington, in Van Buren county.

46. Keosauqua to Birmingham. From Keosauqua to Birmingham, in Van Buren county.

Resolved,

Secretary to forward. That the secretary of state be required to for ward a copy of these resolutions to our senators and representatives in congress.

Approved. February 5, 1851.

RESOLUTION No. 29.

LAWS.

JOINT RESOLUTION providing for the publication of the general and local laws of the present session.

Resolved by the General Assembly of the State of Iowa.

Not to be printed—how disposed of. That three thousand copies of all laws passed at the present session of the general assembly, except the "revised code," be published under the superintendence of the secretary of state; and that one thousand copies of said laws be deposited in the office of the