and the amount of the purchase money, which certificate shall be assignable by endorsement thereon, but no real estate shall be sold for the non-payment of taxes, unless the assessment of such tax or taxes and the time of such sale shall have been duly notified by publication for at least four consecutive weeks in the manner provided for publication of ordinances in section 7. Said taxes shall be deemed to be due on the first day of September in each Any real estate sold under this section may be redeemed at any vear. time within two years from the date of the sale thereof by paying the amount for which the same was sold with twenty-five per cent per annum interest upon the same, which payment may be made to the recorder as the agent for the purchaser. If any real estate so sold remain unredeemed at the expiration of two years from the date of the sale, the marshal shall upon the payment of his legal fees, make, execute and deliver to the purchaser his assignce or legal representative a deed for such real estate. The mayor and councilmen may within thirty days after the assessment of taxes make such change therein as may be applied for by any one who may deem the valuation of his property unjust.

SEC. 16. To take effect. This act to take effect and be in force from and after its passage, and to be published but not at the expense of the state in the Iowa Observer.

Approved, February 5th, 1851.

[200] CHAPTER 83.

JOSEPH W. FOSTER.

AN ACT to legalize the appointment of Joseph W. Foster.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Iowa:

SECTION 1. Appointment and acts legalized. That the appointment of Joseph W. Foster, as school fund commissioner of Fayette county, and his acts as such, are hereby recognized and made valid and binding in law. SEC. 2. Take effect. This act shall take effect from and after its passage.

Approved, February 5, 1851.

CHAPTER 84.

APPORTIONMENT.

AN ACT to re-apportion the state, and define the boundaries of senatorial and representative districts therein.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Iowa:

SECTION 1. Lee county. That the county of Lee shall have three (3) senators and six (6) representatives.

SEC. 2. Des Moines. That the county of Des Moines shall have two (2) senators and four (4) representatives.

SEC. 3. Van Buren. That the county of Van Buren shall have two (2) senators and four (4) representatives.