### CHAPTER 37.

## . SIXTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT.

## AN ACT to create the sixth judicial district.

# Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Iowa:

SECTION 1. Counties embraced in district. That the counties of Ringgold, Taylor, Page, Fremont, Mills, Montgomery, Adams, Union, Adair, Cass, Pottawattamie, Harrison, Shelby, Audibon, Carroll, Crawford, Monona, Wahkaw. Ida. Sac, Buena Vista, Cherokee, Plymouth, Sioux, O'Brien, Clay, Dickinson, Oceola and Buncombe, shall constitute the sixth judicial district.

SEC. 2. District judge to be elected—qualification and oath of office. A district judge of the sixth judicial district shall be elected on the first Monday in April next, according to the provisions of the act entitled an act regulating the elections of district judges, approved February 16th, 1847. The abstracts of the votes of the several organized counties shall be returned to the county of Pottawattamie, according to the provisions of the third section of this act; and the judge elect shall be qualified to act, on receiving a certificate, and taking the official oath as provided in the fourth section thereof.

SEC. 3. .Take effect. This act shall take effect from and after its publication in the "Iowa Star," "Fort Desmoines Gazette" and "Frontier Guardian."

Approved February 4th, 1851.

Published in Fort Desmoines Gazette, February 7th, Iowa Star February 13th, and Frontier Guardian February 1851.

[75] CHAPTER 37.

#### SEAT OF JUSTICE.

AN ACT to provide for the location of the seats of justice of Taylor and Ringgold counties.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Iowa:

SECTION 1. Commissioners—Taylor county—time and place of meeting centre—name. That John R. Williams of the county of Monroe, G. D. Hackworth of the county of Wappello, and Harvey Dunlavy of the county of Davis, be and they are hereby appointed commissioners to locate and establish the seat of justice of the county of Taylor; said commissioners or any two of them, shall meet at the house of Isaac Groill in said county of Taylor, on or before the first Monday of July next, and proceed to locate and establish the seat of justice of said county, as near the geographical centre of said county as the said commissioners may deem proper, having due regard to the present as well as the future population of said county; and as soon as they shall have come to a determination, they shall give the said point a name.

SEC. 2. Commissioners—Ringgold Co.—time and place of meeting. That John W. Ellis of Davis county, H. B. Notson of Decatur county and Reason Wilkinson of Davis county, be and they are hereby appointed commissioners