the Iowa State Register, and the Webster City Weekly Graphic, anything in the statutes to the contrary notwithstanding, providing such publication shall be without expense to the state.

Approved April 8, 1896.

I hereby certify that the foregoing act was published in the Iowa State Register April 15, 1896.

W. M. McFarland, Secretary of State.

CHAPTER 124.

S. F. 428. AN ACT fixing the number of senators in the general assembly, apportioning them among the several counties according to the number of inhabitants in each and dividing the state into senatorial districts.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Iowa:

SECTION 1. That the number of senators in the general assembly is hereby fixed at fifty, and they are hereby apportioned among the several counties according to the number of inhabitants in each, and under said apportionment the state is hereby divided into fifty senatorial districts, each district to have one senator, as follows:

1. Lee county shall constitute the First district.

2. Jefferson county and Van Buren county shall constitute the Second district.

3. Appanoose county and Davis county shall constitute the Third district.

4. Wayne county and Lucas county shall constitute the Fourth district.

5. Ringgold county, Decatur county, and Union county shall constitute the Fifth district.

6. Taylor county and Adams county shall constitute the Sixth district.

7. Page county and Fremont county shall constitute the Seventh district.

8. Mills county and Montgomery county shall constitute the Eighth district.

9. Des \dot{M}_{\odot} ines county shall constitute the Ninth district.

10. Henry county and Washington shall constitute the Tenth district.

11. Warren county and Clarke county shall constitute the Eleventh district.

12. Poweshiek county and Keokuk county shall constitute the Twelfth district.

13. Wapello county shall constitute the Thirteenth district.

14. Mahaska county shall constitute the Fourteenth district.

15. Marion county Monroe county shall constitute the Fifteenth district.

- 16. Madison county and Adair county shall constitute the Sixteenth district.
- 17. Audubon county and Dallas county and Guthrie county shall constitute the Seventeenth district.
- 18. Cass county and Shelby county shall constitute the Eighteenth district.
- 19. Pottawattamie county shall constitute the Nineteenth district.
- 20. Muscatine county and Louisa county shall constitute the Twentieth district.
- 21. Scott county shall constitute the Twenty-first district.
- 22. Clinton county shall constitute the Twenty-second district.
- 23. Jackson county shall constitute the Twenty-third district.
- 24. Jones county and Cedar county shall constitute the Twenty-fourth district.
- 25. Johnson county and Iowa county shall constitute the Twenty-fifth district.
- 26. Linn county shall constitute the Twenty-sixth district.
- 27. Webster county and Calhoun county shall constitute the Twenty-seventh district.
- 28. Marshall county shall constitute the Twenty-eighth district.
- 29. Jasper county shall constitute the Twenty ninth district.
 - 30. Polk county shall constitute the Thirtieth district.
- 31. Story county and Boone county shall constitute the Thirty-first district.
- 32. Woodbury county shall constitute the Thirty-second district.
- 33. Buchanan county and Delaware county shall constitute the Thirty-third district.
- 34. Harrison county, Monona county, and Crawford county shall constitute the Thirty-fourth district.
- 35. Dubuque county shall constitute the Thirty-fifth district.
- 36. Clayton county shall constitute the Thirty-sixth district.
- 37. Wright county, Hamilton county, and Hardin county shall constitute the Thirty-seventh district.
- 38. Black Hawk county and Grundy county shall constitute the Thirty-eighth district.
- 39. Butler county and Bremer county shall constitute the Thirty-ninth district.
- 40. Allamakee county and Fayette county shall constitute the Fortieth district.
- 41. Mitchell county and Worth county and Winnebago county shall constitute the Forty-first district.

42. Winneshiek county and Howard county shall constitute the Forty-second district.

43. Cerro Gordo county, Franklin county, and Han-

cock county shall constitute the Forty-third district.

44. Floyd county and Chickasaw county shall consti-

44. Floyd county and Chickasaw county shall constitute the Forty-fourth district.

45. Tama county and Benton county shall constitute the Forty-fifth district.

46. Ida county and Cherokee county and Plymouth

county shall constitute the Forty-sixth district.

47. Kossuth county, Emmet county, Dickinson county, Clay county, and Palo Alto county shall constitute the Forty-seventh district.

48. Carroll county, Sac county, and Greene county

shall constitute the Forty-eighth district.

49. O'Brien county, Osceola county, Lyon county, and Sioux county shall constitute the Forty-ninth district.

50. Buena Vista county, Pocahontas county, and Humboldt county shall constitute the Fiftieth district.

Approved May 2, 1896.

CHAPTER 125.

H. F. 496. AN ACT to apportion the state into representative districts and declare the ratio of representation.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Iowa:

SECTION 1. That one representative from every twenty-two thousand inhabitants is hereby constituted the ratio of apportionment, and that each representative district shall be as hereinafter described.

SEC. 2. Lee county shall be the first district and enti-

tled to two representatives (39,528).

SEC. 3. Van Buren county shall be the second district and entitled to one representative (16,829).

SEC. 4. Davis county shall be the third district and

entitled to one representative (15,015).

SEC. 5. Appanoose county shall be the fourth district and entitled to one representative (25,383).

SEC. 6. Wayne county shall be the fifth district and

entitled to one representative (16.155).

SEC. 7. Decatur county shall be the sixth district and entitled to one representative (16,639).

SEC. 8. Ringgold county shall be the seventh district

and entitled to one representative (14,065).

SEC. 9. Taylor county shall be the eighth district and entitled to one representative (17,347).

SEC. 10. Page county shall be the ninth district and

entitled to one representative (22,025).

SEC. 11. Fremont county shall be the tenth district and entitled to one representative (17,176).