of justice is situated; whose duty it shall be to record the same, and forever keep it on file in [95] his office; and the place thus designated shall be the

seat of justice of such county.

- SEC. 19. Pay of locators, two dollars per day each. Said commissioners shall each be entitled to receive the sum of two dollars per day while necessarily employed, and the sum of two dollars for every twenty miles travel, in the discharge of the duties enjoined upon them by this act; which shall be paid by the county, for which such location shall be made, out of the first funds arising from the sale of town lots, in such seat of justice.
- SEC. 20. First court in Jasper, at Springer's. That the district court for the county of Jasper, shall be held at the house of Mathew D. Springer, in said county, or at such other place as may be designated by the board of county commissioners of said county, until the seat of justice of said county may be located.
- SEC. 21. First court in Polk, at Ft. Desmoines. That the district court for the county of Polk, shall be held at Fort Desmoines, until the seat of justice of said county may be located.
- SEC. 22. Act in force from passage. This act to take effect and be in force from and after its passage.

Approved, January 17th, 1846.

CHAPTER 102.

MUSCATINE COUNTY.

AN ACT for the relief of Muscatine county.

Be it enacted by the Council and House of Representatives of the Territory of Iowa.

SECTION 1. Commissioners to pay for support of the poor. That the board of commissioners of the county of Muscatine, be and they are hereby authorized to audit and pay all costs and expenses for the support of the poor, in said county, existing prior to the twelfth day of February, A. D. 1844; provided, the same shall not have been paid out of the township treasuries.

SEC. 2. In force from passage. This act to take effect and be in force

from and after its passage.

Approved, January 17th, 1846.

[96] CHAPTER 103.

ROAD FROM FT. MADISON.

AN ACT to establish a Territorial road, from Fort Madison, in Lee County, to Mount Pleasant, in Henry county.

Be it enacted by the Council and House of Representatives of the Territory of Iowa.

SECTION 1. Road from Fort Madison to Mount Pleasant. That James D. Spearman, and E. Archbold, of the county of Henry, and John Grun of the county of Lee, be and they are hereby appointed commissioners, to locate and