- SEC. 5. County commissioners authorized to keep ferry, etc., across Iowa river—citizens of Louisa county to cross free of toll. And be it further enacted, that the county commissioners of Louisa county are hereby authorized, if they think it expedient, to establish and keep a ferry across the Iowa river, where the road referred to in the preceding section crosses said river, which ferry shall always be kept in operation under the direction of the county commissioners; and all citizens of said county, with their horses, teams, etc., shall be ferried across said river at this ferry, free of all charge, at all times.
- [31] SEC. 6. Vacancies—how filled—proviso. That should any of the commissioners named in the foregoing sections of this act die, or refuse to serve, or remove out of the county, the county commissioners shall fill such vacancies; provided, however, that any two of them shall have power to discharge the duties herein required.
- SEC. 7. County commissioners to fix compensation of commissioners, surveyor, etc. That each of the several commissioners named in the foregoing sections, together with the surveyors, chain carriers and markers, employed by them, shall receive such compensation for their services as the county commissioners may direct.
- SEC. 8. Commissioners to take oath. That each and every commissioner appointed under the provisions of this act, shall, before he enters on the duties required of him, take and subscribe an oath before some justice of the peace, that he will faithfully and impartially perform the duties, according to law.
- SEC. 9. Commissioners—how to be governed. The commissioners shall in all respects not provided for in this act, be governed by the general law now in force in this territory, defining the mode of laying out and establishing territorial roads.

Approved January 9, 1841.

## CHAPTER 41.

AN ACT to district the county of Johnson into county commissioners' districts.

Be it enacted by the Council and House of Representatives of the Territory of Iowa:

- SECTION 1. County commissioners to district Johnson county. That the county commissioners of the county of Johnson be, and they are hereby authorized, to district said county into three districts, for the purpose of electing county commissioners; which districts shall be numbered first, second, and third.
- SEC. 2. Election of commissioners—how to take place. At the first annual election after said county shall have been districted as aforesaid, there shall be elected, by the qualified electors of said county, one county commissioner in the first district, resident therein; at the second election there shall be elected one county commissioner in the second district; and so on alternately as long as this act is in force.

Approved January 9, 1841.