CHAPTER 20.

AN ACT to district the county of Dubuque into three county commissioners' districts.

Be it enacted by the Council and House of Representatives of the Territory of Iowa:

SECTION 1. County divided into three districts. That the county of Dubuque shall be divided into three county commissioners' districts, as follows, to-wit: That the first district shall consist of the Regan, Drebilbis, and Whitewater precincts; that the second district shall consist of the Dubuque precinct; and the third district shall consist of Peru, Darango, Paul's and Hewett's precincts.

SEC. 2. Election of commissioners, etc. Be it further enacted, that at the next general election there shall be elected from the first district, one county commissioner, and that annually thereafter there shall be elected from each district alternately one county commissioner, according to the provisions of the law regulating general elections.

Approved December 30, 1840.

CHAPTER 21.

AN ACT to establish a seminary of learning at Iowa City, Johnson county.

Be it enacted by the Council and House of Representatives of the Territory of Iowa:

SECTION 1. Iowa seminary established—names of corporators—name and style. That there shall be established at Iowa City, in Johnson county, a seminary of learning for the instruction of young persons of both sexes, in science and literature, to be called the "Iowa Seminary;" and that Henry Murray, W. R. Harrison, Chauncy Swan, Jesse Brown, Samuel H. M'Crory, John Horner, W. C. Reagan, L. W. Hastings, Samuel C. Trowbridge, W. B. Snyder, Pleasant Harris, David Switzer, and their associates and [15] successors, are hereby declared a body politic and corporate in law, by the name and style of the "Iowa Seminary."

SEC. 2. General powers of corporation—to have seal. The corporation before named shall have perpetual succession, and power to possess, retain and enjoy, property, real and personal, and shall have power to sell, grant and convey, rent, or otherwise dispose of at pleasure, all such property as above described; and they shall have power to contract and be contracted with, sue and be sued, plead and be impleaded, in all courts of justice; they shall have and use a common seal, with power to alter it at pleasure.

SEC. 3. **Stock transferable**. The stock of said seminary shall consist of shares of ten dollars each, which shall be deemed personal property, and shall be transferable on the books of said corporation, not including tuition, shall not exceed five thousand dollars; and its funds, privileges, and immunities, shall be used for no other purposes than that of education.

SEC. 4. Trustees to be elected—trustees to be elected for one year—election by ballot—number of votes of stockholders—trustees to elect officers failure to elect, how to proceed. The corporate concerns of said seminary shall be managed by a board of trustees, consisting of eleven members, six of whom shall form a quorum for the transaction of business. They shall be elected by the stockholders on the first Monday of June, annually, and shall hold their office for the term of one year, and until their successors are