SEC. 3. In cases where the State becomes the pur-When State chaser of real estate, under execution, issued upon to pay costs. judgments rendered in favor of the State, all costs and expenses attending the same shall be audited and allowed by the State Census Board and paid out of any money in the State Treasury not otherwise appropriated, whenever such costs and expenses cannot be collected out of the defendant or defendants in such judgments.

SEC. 4. This Act being deemed of immediate im-Publication. portance, shall take effect and be in force from and after its publication in the Iowa State Register and Burlington Hawkeye.

Approved April 2d, 1866.

I hereby certify that the foregoing Act was published in the Iowa State Register April 14th, 1866, and in the Burlington Hawkeye April 14th, 1866.

JAMES WRIGHT, Secretary of State.

CHAPTER 111.

AN ACT apportioning the State of Iowa into Senatorial Districts.

SECTION 1. Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Iowa, That one Senator to eighteen portionment. thousand inhabitants or fraction thereof equal to one half in each Senatorial District is hereby constituted the ratio of apportionment.

SEC. 2. Lee county is the first district, and entitled 1st District. to two Senators.

SEC. 3. Van Buren county is the second district, 2d District. and entitled to one Senator.

SEC. 4. Davis county is the third district, and en-3d District. titled to one Senator.

SEC. 5. Appanoose county is the fourth district, and 4th District. entitled to one Senator.

SEC. 6. The counties of Wayne, Lucas, and Clarke 5th District. is the fifth district, and entitled to one Senator.

SEC. 7. Monroe county is the sixth district, and en-6th District. titled to one Senator.

SEC. 8. The counties of Ringgold and Decatur shall 7th District. constitute the seventh district, and be entitled to one Senator.

SEC. 9. The counties of Taylor, Page, Adams, Un-sth District.

ion, and Montgomery shall constitute the eighth district, and be entitled to one Senator. SEC. 10. The counties of Fremont, Mills, Pottawat-9th District. tamie, and Cass shall constitute the ninth district, and entitled to one Senator. SEC. 11. Des Moines county is the tenth district, 10th District. and entitled to one Senator. SEC. 12. Henry county is the eleventh district, and 11th District. entitled to one Senator. SEC. 13. Jefferson county is the twelfth district, 12th District. and entitled to one Senator. SEC. 14. Wapello county is the thirteenth district, 13th District. and entitled to one Senator. SEC. 15. Louisa county is the fourteenth district, 14th District. and entitled to one Senator. SEC. 16. Washington county is the fifteenth district, 15th District. and entitled to one Senator. SEC. 17. Muscatine county is the sixteenth district, 16th District. and entitled to one Senator. SEC. 18. Keokuk county is the seventeenth district, 17th District. and entitled to one Senator. 18th District. SEC. 19. Mahaska county is the eighteenth district, and entitled to one Senator. SEC. 20. Marion county is the nineteenth district, 19th District. and entitled to one Senator. SEC. 21. Warren county is the twentieth district, 20th District. and entitled to one Senator. SEC. 22. The counties of Madison, Adair, Dallas, 21st District. and Guthrie shall constitute the twenty-first district, and entitled to one Senator. z2d District. SEC. 23. Scott county is the twenty-second district, and entitled to two Senators. SEC. 24. Clinton county is the twenty-third district, 23d District. and entitled to one Senator. SEC. 25. Cedar county is the twenty-fourth district, 24th District. and entitled to one Senator. SEC. 26. Johnson county is the twenty-fifth district, 25th District. and entitled to one Senator. SEC. 27. The counties of Iowa and Powesheik, shall 26th District. constitute the twenty-sixth district, and entitled to one Senator. SEC. 28. Jasper county is the twenty-seventh dis-27th District. trict, and entitled to one Senator. SEC. 29. Polk county is the twenty-eighth district, 28th District. and entitled to one Senator. SEC. 30. Jackson county is the twenty-ninth district, 29th District. and entitled to one Senator. SEC. 31. Jones county is the thirtieth district, and 80th District. entitled to one Senator.

SEC. 32. Linn county is the thirty-first district, and 31st District. entitled to one Senator.

SEC. 33. The counties of Benton and Tama shall 32d District. constitute the thirty-second district, and entitled to one Senator.

SEC. 34. The counties of Marshall and Hardin, 33d District. shall constitute the thirty-third district, and entitled to one Senator.

SEC. 35. Dubuque county is the thirty-fourth dis-34th District. trict, and entitled to two Senators.

SEC. 36. Delaware county is the thirty-fifth district, 85th District. and entitled to one Senator.

SEC. 37. The counties of Buchanan and Bremer 86th District. shall constitute the thirty-sixth district, and be entitled to one Senator.

SEC. 38. Clayton county is the thirty-seventh dis-87th District. trict, and entitled to one Senator.

SEC. 39. Fayette county is the thirty eighth district, 88th District. and entitled to one Senator.

SEC. 40. The counties of Franklin, Butler, Grundy, 89th District. and Cerro Gordo shall constitute the thirty-ninth dis-

trict, and entitled to one Senator.

SEC. 41. Black Hawk county is the fortieth district, 40th District. and entitled to one Senator.

SEC. 42. Alamakee county is the forty-first district, 41st District. and entitled to one Senator.

SEC. 43. Winnesheik county is the forty-second dis-42d District. trict, and entitled to one Senator.

SEC. 44. The counties of Floyd, Mitchell, Howard, 43d District. and Chickasaw shall constitute the forty-third district, and entitled to one Senator.

SEC. 45. The counties of Boone, Hamilton, Story, 44th District. and Greene shall constitute the forty-fourth district, and entitled to one Senator.

SEC. 46. The counties of Worth, Winnebago, Kos-45th District. suth, Emmett, Dickinson, Clay, Palo Alto, Hancock, Wright, Humboldt, Poeahontas, Buena Vista, Sac, Calhoun, and Webster shall constitute the forty-fifth district, and entitled to one Senator.

SEC. 47. The counties of Harrison, Shelby, Audu-46th District. bon, Carroll, Crawford, Monona, Woodbury, Ida, Cherokee, Plymouth, Sioux, O'Brien, and the unorganized counties of Lyon and Osceola shall constitute the fortysixth disrict, and entitled to one Senator.

Approved April 2d, 1866.