CHAPTER 123.

SENATORIAL APPORTIONMENT.

AN ACT to apportion the State into Senatorial Districts.

SECTION 1. Be it enacted by the General Assembly Ratio. of the State of Iowa, That the ratio for apportionment of the State into Senatorial Districts shall be one Senator for each seventeen thousand and two hundred inhabitants or fraction thereof exceeding one-half in each Senatorial District.

SEC. 2. The county of Lee shall constitute the first 1st district district and shall have two Senators

district, and shall have two Senators.

Src. 3. The county of Van Buren shall constitute 2d district. the second district, and shall have one Senator.

SEC. 4. The county of Davis shall constitute the 3d district.

third district, and shall have one Senator.

SEC. 5. The county of Appanoose shall constitute 4th district. the fourth district, and shall have one Senator.

SEC. 6. The counties of Lucas, Clark and Wayne 5th district. shall constitute the fifth district, and shall have one Senator.

SEC. 7. The counties of Ringgold and Decatur shall 6th district.

constitute the sixth district, and shall have one Senator.

SEC. 8. The counties of Taylor, Page, Union, Ad-7th district. ams and Montgomery shall constitute the seventh district, and shall have one Senator.

SEC. 9. The counties of Fremont, Mills, Cass and 8th district. Pottawattamie shall constitute the eighth district, and

shall have one Senator.

SEC. 10. The county of Des Moines shall constitute 9th district. the ninth district, and shall have one Senator.

SEC. 11. The county of Henry shall constitute the 10th district

tenth district, and shall have one Senator.

SEC. 12. The county of Jefferson shall constitute 11th district. the eleventh district, and shall have one Senator.

SEC. 13. The county of Wapello shall constitute 12th district.

the twelfth district, and shall have one Senator.

SEC. 14. The county of Monroe shall constitute the 18th district. thirteenth district, and shall have one Senator.

SEC. 15. The county of Louisa shall constitute the 14th district.

fourteenth district, and have one Senator.

SEC. 16. The county of Muscatine shall constitute 15th district. the fifteenth district, and shall have one Senator.

SEC. 17. The county of Washington shall constitute 16th district. the sixteenth district, and shall have one Senator.

SEC. 18. The county of Keokuk shall constitute the 17th district. seventeenth district, and shall have one Senator. The county of Mahaska shall constitute 18th district. the eighteenth district, and shall have one Senator. SEC. 20. The county of Marion shall constitute the 19th district. nineteenth district, and shall have one Senator. Sec. 21. The county of Warren shall constitute the 20th district. twentieth district, and shall have one Senator. The counties of Madison, Dallas, Adair Sec. 22. 21st district. and Guthrie shall constitute the twenty-first district, and shall have one Senator. SEC. 23. The county of Scott shall constitute the 22d district. twenty-second district, and shall have two Senators. SEC. 24. The county of Clinton shall constitute the 23d district. twenty-third district, and shall have one Senator. SEC. 25. The county of Cedar shall constitute the 24th district. twenty-fourth district, and shall have one Senator. Sec. 26. The county of Johnson shall constitute the 25th district. twenty-fifth district, and shall have one Senator. The counties of Iowa and Powesheik shall 26th district. constitute the twenty-sixth district, and shall have one Senator. Sec. 28. The county of Jasper shall constitute the 27th district. twenty-seventh district, and shall have one Senator. The county of Polk shall constitute the SEC. 29. 28th district. twenty-eighth district, and shall have one Senator. SEC. 30. The county of Jackson shall constitute the 29th district. twenty-ninth district, and shall have one Senator. SEC. 31. The county of Jones shall constitute the 30th district. thirtieth district, and shall have one Senator. The county of Linn shall constitute the Sec. 32. 31st district. thirty-first district, and shall have one Senator. SEC. 33. The counties of Benton and Tama shall 32d district. constitute the thirty-second district, and shall have one Senator. The counties of Marshall, Story and Boone Sec. 34. 33d district. shall constitute the thirty-third district, and shall have one Senator. SEC. 35. The county of Dubuque shall constitute 84th district. the thirty-fourth district, and shall have two Senators. SEC. 36. The county of Delaware shall constitute 35th district. the thirty-fifth district, and shall have one Senator. Sec. 37. The counties of Buchanan and Bremer 36th district.

one Senator.

37th district. Sec. 38. The county of Clayton shall constitute the thirty-seventh district, and shall have one Senator.

shall constitute the thirty-sixth district, and shall have

SEC. 39. The county of Fayette shall constitute the 88th district. thirty-eighth district, and shall have one Senator.

SEC. 40. The counties of Hardin, Grundy and 39th district.

Hamilton shall constitute the thirty-ninth district, and shall have one Senator.

SEC. 41. The counties of Blackhawk and Butler 40th district. shall constitute the fortieth district, and shall have one

SEC. 42. The county of Alamakee shall constitute 41st district. the forty-first district, and shall have one Senator.

SEC. 43. The county of Winneshiek shall constitute 42d district.

the forty-second district, and shall have one Senator.

SEC. 44. The counties of Howard, Mitchell, Floyd 48d district and Chickasaw shall constitute the forty-third district, and shall have one Senator.

SEC. 45. The counties of Worth, Winnebago, Kos-44th district suth, Emmett, Dickinson, Clay, Palo Alto, Hancock, Cerro Gordo, Wright, Humboldt, Pocahontas, Buena Vista, Sac, Calhoun, Webster and Franklin, shall constitute the forty-fourth district, and shall have one Senator.

SEC. 46. The couties of Harrison, Shelby, Audu-45th district. bon, Carroll, Greene, Crawford, Monona, Woodbury, Ida, Cherokee, Plymouth, Sioux, O'Brien, Oceola and Lyon, shall constitute the forty-fifth district, and shall have one Senator.

SEC. 47. That nothing in this Act shall affect the Present Sen-Senators now elected, although the numbers of those ators' rights districts under present laws may be the same as provided for in this Act; provided, that the Senators to be elected at the October election, in the year 1865, in districts 40 and 45 shall hold their term of office for the term of four years.

SEC. 48. No district herein formed shall be repre-Number. sented in the next General Assembly by a greater num-

ber of Senators than herein provided.

SEC. 49. All Acts and parts of Acts inconsistent with this Act are hereby repealed.

Approved April 5th, 1864.