# **BUDGET UNIT BRIEF - FY 2018**

Fiscal Services Division December 15, 2017



Ground Floor, State Capitol Building

Des Moines, Iowa 50319

515.281.3566

# Iowa State University — General Education

## **Purpose and History**

lowa has three public universities under the authority of the lowa Board of Regents. Each university provides a broad array of programs and degrees while maintaining its own cultural heritage.

lowa State University (ISU) was established as the lowa Agricultural College and Model Farm in 1858 and became a land-grant university in 1864. The Morrill Acts of 1862 and 1890 funded higher educational institutions by granting federal land to the states to develop or sell to raise funds to establish and endow land-grant colleges. The 1862 Act required land-grant colleges to focus on the teaching of agriculture, science, and engineering, rather than higher education's traditional emphasis on classical studies. As a land-grant institution, ISU focuses on the ideals that higher education should be accessible to all and that the University should teach liberal arts and practical subjects. The University offers more than 300 degree programs at the bachelor's, master's, doctoral, and professional levels. These degrees are offered through eight colleges: Agriculture and Life Sciences, Business, Design, Engineering, the Graduate College, Human Sciences, Liberal Arts and Sciences, and Veterinary Medicine.

#### **Related Statutes and Administrative Rules**

lowa Code chapters <u>263</u>, <u>266</u>, and <u>268</u> lowa Administrative Code <u>681</u>

### **More Information**

Board of Regents: <u>www.iowaregents.edu</u>

LSA Staff Contact: Robin Madison (515.281.5270) robin.madison@legis.iowa.gov