BUDGET UNIT BRIEF – FY 2018

Fiscal Services Division December 15, 2017



Ground Floor, State Capitol Building

Des Moines, Iowa 50319

515.281.3566

University of Iowa — General Education

Purpose and History

lowa has three public universities under the authority of the lowa Board of Regents. Each university provides a broad array of programs and degrees while maintaining its own cultural heritage.

University of Iowa (UI) was established in 1847 and is a major national research university. The University offers more than 100 areas for both undergraduate and graduate study that range across the arts, sciences, and humanities, and it offers seven professional degrees. The areas of study are organized into 11 colleges: Liberal Arts and Sciences, Education, Engineering, Law, Nursing, Pharmacy, Dentistry, Public Health, the Henry B. Tippie College of Business, the Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine, and the Graduate College.

Related Statutes and Administrative Rules

Iowa Code chapters <u>263</u>, <u>266</u>, and <u>268</u> Iowa Administrative Code <u>681</u>

More Information

Board of Regents: <u>www.iowaregents.edu</u> LSA Staff Contact: Robin Madison (515.281.5270) <u>robin.madison@legis.iowa.gov</u>