Budget Unit Brief



Regional Telecommunication Councils

Program Overview

The lowa Telecommunications and Technology Commission (ITTC) was established in 1994 to supervise the lowa Communications Network (ICN). The Commission provides for the centralized, coordinated use and control of the ICN. Educational applications are given the highest priority for use of the ICN by the ITTC. The ITTC was authorized to develop advisory committees.

Regional Telecommunications Councils (RTCs) were established in each of the 15 community college districts. Each council has nine members, with one member appointed by each of the following:

- State Board of Regents
- Iowa Association of Community College Trustees
- Area Education Agency Board
- Iowa Association of School Boards
- School Administrators of Iowa
- Iowa Association of Independent Colleges and Universities
- Iowa State Education Association
- The Director of the Department of Education
- The Administrator of the Public Broadcasting Division of the Department of Education

Additional ex officio, nonvoting members may also be appointed to the RTCs. The RTCs provide advice on the assessment of local educational needs and coordinate program activities, including technical assistance for network classrooms (including those in schools), planning and troubleshooting for local area networks, scheduling of video sites, and other related support activities. The community college located in the merged area of an RTC provides staff and facilitates the activities of the Council. The community college and the RTC may enter into an Iowa Code chapter 28E agreement for these arrangements.

Funding

Funding is appropriated from the General Fund to the ITTC for distribution to the Regional Telecommunications Councils based on usage by the region. The total funding is approximately \$993,000 annually.

Related Statutes and Administrative Rules

Iowa Code section <u>8D.5</u> <u>751</u> Iowa Administrative Code

Revised November 21, 2016

More Information

Regional Telecommunication Councils: <u>http://www.iptv.org/iowa_database/governing.cfm</u>

lowa General Assembly: http://www.legis.iowa.gov/index.aspx

LSA Staff Contact: Josie Gerrietts (515-725-2249) josie.gerrietts@legis.iowa.gov