8A.372 Terms of office.

1. The members of the commission who are appointed by the governor shall be appointed to four-year terms of office and until their successors are appointed, three terms of which shall expire every two years. Vacancies shall be filled by appointment of the governor for the unexpired term of the original appointee.

2. The legislative members of the commission shall be appointed to four-year terms of office, two of which shall expire every two years unless sooner terminated by a commission member ceasing to be a member of the general assembly. Vacancies shall be filled by appointment of the speaker of the house or the president of the senate, after consultation with the majority leader and the minority leader of the senate, as the case may be, for the unexpired term of their predecessors.

3. The term of office of each appointive member of the commission shall begin on the first of May of the odd-numbered year in which the member is appointed.

[C62, 66, 71, 73, 75, 77, 79, 81, § 18A.2]

86 Acts, ch 1245, § 2026; 90 Acts, ch 1223, §11; 2007 Acts, ch 115, §11

CS2007, §8A.372