28B.1 Membership of commission.

The Iowa commission on interstate cooperation is hereby established. It shall consist of thirteen members to be appointed as follows:

- 1. Five members of the senate to be appointed by the majority leader of the senate.
- 2. Five members of the house of representatives to be appointed by the speaker of the house.
- 3. Three administrative officers to be appointed by the governor.

Appointments shall be made prior to the fourth Monday in January of the first regular session of the general assembly. Members shall take office on February 1 following their appointment and serve for two-year terms or until their successors are appointed and take office.

The governor, the majority leader of the senate, and the speaker of the house of representatives are ex officio honorary nonvoting members of the commission.

The director of the legislative services agency shall serve as secretary of the commission.

[C62, 66, 71, 73, 75, 77, 79, 81, § 28B.1]

86 Acts, ch 1245, § 2027; 2003 Acts, ch 35, §44, 49