261.1 Commission created.

There is hereby created a commission to be known as the "College Student Aid Commission" of the state of Iowa. Membership of the commission shall be as follows:

- 1. A member of the state board of regents to be named by the board, or the executive director of the board if so appointed by the board, who shall serve for a four-year term or until the expiration of the member's term of office. Such member shall convene the organizational meeting of the commission.
- 2. The director of the department of education or the director's designee.
- 3. A member of the senate to be appointed by the president of the senate, after consultation with the majority leader and the minority leader of the senate, to serve as an ex officio nonvoting member for a term of four years beginning on July 1 of the year of appointment.
- 4. A member of the house of representatives to be appointed by the speaker of the house to serve as an ex officio nonvoting member for a term of four years beginning on July 1 of the year of appointment.
- 5. Eight additional members to be appointed by the governor. One of the members shall be selected to represent private colleges, private universities and private junior colleges located in the state of Iowa. When appointing this member, the governor shall give careful consideration to any person or persons nominated or recommended by any organization or association of some or all private colleges, private universities and private junior colleges located in the state of Iowa. One of the members shall be selected to represent community colleges located in the state of Iowa. When appointing this member, the governor shall give careful consideration to any person or persons nominated or recommended by any organization or association of Iowa community colleges. One member shall be enrolled as a student at a board of regents institution, community college, or accredited private institution. One member shall be a representative of a lending institution located in this state. One member shall be a representative of the Iowa student loan liquidity corporation. The other three members, none of whom shall be official board members or trustees of an institution of higher learning or of an association of institutions of higher learning, shall be selected to represent the general public.

The members of the commission appointed by the governor shall serve for a term of four years.

Vacancies on the commission shall be filled for the unexpired term of such vacancies in the same manner as the original appointment.

A vacancy shall exist on the commission when a legislative member of the commission ceases to be a member of the general assembly or when a student member ceases to be enrolled as a student. Such vacancy shall be filled within thirty days.

[C66, 71, 73, 75, 77, 79, 81, § 261.1]

85 Acts, ch 67, §31; 85 Acts, ch 212, §21; 86 Acts, ch 1245, § 2032; 89 Acts, ch 83, § 37; 89 Acts, ch 300, § 1; 90 Acts, ch 1223, § 24; 90 Acts, ch 1253, § 121, 122; 91 Acts, ch 61, §1, 2; 2000 Acts, ch 1095, §2; 2006 Acts, ch 1051, §2