2.41 Legislative council created.

A continuing legislative council of twenty-four members is created. The council is composed of the president and president pro tempore of the senate, the speaker and speaker pro tempore of the house of representatives, the majority and minority floor leaders of the senate, the chairperson of the senate committee on appropriations, the minority party ranking member of the senate committee on appropriations, six members of the senate appointed by the majority leader of the senate, the majority and minority floor leaders of the house of representatives, the chairperson of the house committee on appropriations, the minority party ranking member of the house committee on appropriations, and six members of the house of representatives appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives. Of the six members appointed by the majority leader of the senate and speaker of the house, three from each house shall be appointed from the majority party and three from each house shall be appointed from the minority party. Members shall be appointed prior to the fourth Monday in January of the first regular session of each general assembly and shall serve for two-year terms ending upon the convening of the following general assembly or when their successors are appointed. Vacancies on the council, including vacancies which occur when a member of the council ceases to be a member of the general assembly, shall be filled by the majority leader of the senate and the speaker of the house respectively. Insofar as possible at least two members of the council from each house shall be reappointed. The council shall hold regular meetings at a time and place fixed by the council and shall meet at any other time and place as the council deems necessary.

[C58, § 2.46; C62, 66, 71, 73, § 2.49; C75, 77, 79, 81, § 2.41]

86 Acts, ch 1245, § 2005; 90 Acts, ch 1223, § 6