## 13A.3 Membership and terms.

The council shall consist of five members as follows:

- 1. The attorney general or the attorney general's designated representative.
- 2. The president of the Iowa county attorneys association or its successor.
- 3. Three members elected by the Iowa county attorneys association or its successor.

A member shall vacate an appointment upon termination of the member's official position as a prosecuting attorney or an attorney general. A vacancy shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointment. A member appointed to fill a vacancy created other than by expiration of a term on the council shall be appointed for the unexpired term of the member whom the new member is to succeed in the same manner as the original appointment. Any member may be reappointed for an additional term.

The terms of the elected members shall be three years and shall begin January 1, 1976, but initial terms shall be staggered so that the elected members shall serve terms of one, two, and three years respectively.

[C77, 79, 81, § 13A.3]