
License Fee

License Resident Nonresident Effective Date

Fishing 20.00 $          46.00 $              Jan. 1 - Dec. 31

One-Day Fishing 8.50               10.00                 Jan. 1 - Dec. 31

Three-Day Fishing Not Available 18.50                 Jan. 1 - Dec. 31

Seven-Day Fishing 13.50             35.50                 Jan. 1 - Dec. 31

Three-Year Fishing 60.00             Not Available Jan. 1 - Dec. 31

Fishing - Third Line 12.00             12.00                 Jan. 1 - Dec. 31

Fishing & Hunting Combination 53.00             Not Available Jan. 1 - Dec. 31

Boundary Water Trotline 24.00             47.50                 Jan. 1 - Dec. 31

Paddlefish License
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23.50             47.00                 Jan. 1 - Dec. 31

Lifetime Trout License (65 and over) 63.00             Not Available Jan. 1 - Dec. 31

Lifetime Fishing (65 and over) 59.50             Not Available Jan. 1 - Dec. 31

Lifetime Hunting (65 and over) 59.50             Not Available Varies

Hunting 20.00             129.00               Varies

Hunting (16 - 18) Not  Available 30.00                 Varies

Three-Year Hunting w/ Habitat 99.00             Not Available Jan. 1 - Dec. 31

Deer Antlered or Any Sex
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30.00             345.50               Varies

Antlerless Deer 25.50             263.50               Varies

Turkey 26.50             117.00               Varies

Fur Harvester (16 and over) w/ Habitat 37.00             245.00               Jan. 1 - Dec. 31

Fur Harvester (under 16) 5.50               200.00               Jan. 1 - Dec. 31

Lifetime Fur Harvester (65 and over) 59.50             Not Available Jan. 1 - Dec. 31

Fur Dealer 264.00           586.50               Jan. 1 - Dec. 31

One-Day Fur Dealer Not Available 292.50               Jan. 1 - Dec. 31

Fur Dealer Location Permit Not Available 66.00                 Jan. 1 - Dec. 31

Aquaculture 30.00             66.00                 Jan. 1 - Dec. 31

Retail Bait Dealer 36.00             146.50               Jan. 1 - Dec. 31

Wholesale Bait Dealer 146.50           292.50               Jan. 1 - Dec. 31

Trout Fee 12.50             15.50                 Jan. 1 - Dec. 31

Game Breeder 18.00             30.50                 Jan. 1 - Dec. 31

Taxidermy 18.00             30.50                 Jan. 1 - Dec. 31

Migratory Game Bird 10.00             10.00                 Varies

Wildlife Habitat 13.00             13.00                 Varies

Ginseng Harvest 35.00             65.00                 April 1 - March 31

Ginseng Dealer 250.00           500.00               Sept. 1 - March 15

5)  Nonresidents are required to purchase an antlerless license with the purchase of an antlered or any

sex deer hunting license at a reduced price of $146.50.

Fishing, Hunting, and Trapping — Iowa Annual Fees — 2023

Notes: 

4)  Lifetime Fishing and Combination Hunting/Fishing licenses are available for disabled veterans or 

prisoners of war for $5.

1)  Certain licenses are not sold on the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) website or through the 

Electronic License System for Iowa (ELSI).  An additional $2.00 administrative fee is charged for licenses 

sold through the ELSI.

3)  The passage of SF 2198 (FY 2013 Paddlefish Season on the Missouri River Act) allows persons 

fishing on the Missouri River with a valid fishing license to purchase a license to fish for paddlefish.

2)  Beginning in 2017, hunters may use straight wall ammunition for hunting, using the guidelines from the 

DNR. 

Source:  Department of Natural Resources

LSA Staff Contact:  Austin Brinks (515.725.2200) austin.brinks@legis.iowa.gov


