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STATE OF IOWA AND FEDERAL RESPONSE TO COVID-19 — TAXATION 
 
Purpose.  Legal updates are prepared by the nonpartisan Legal Services Division of the Legislative 
Services Agency.  A legal update is intended to provide legislators, legislative staff, and other persons 
interested in legislative matters with summaries of recent meetings, court decisions, Attorney General 
Opinions, regulatory actions, federal actions, and other occurrences of a legal nature that may be 
pertinent to the General Assembly’s consideration of a topic.  Although an update may identify issues for 
consideration by the General Assembly, it should not be interpreted as advocating any particular course 
of action. 
 
Overview.  This legal update summarizes tax-related actions the state of Iowa and the federal 
government initiated in response to the COVID-19 outbreak.  The update is not a comprehensive 
description of each action and does not describe all state and federal tax-related actions initiated in 
response to COVID-19. 
 

IOWA RESPONSE 
 

Tax Returns.  The filing deadlines of certain state tax returns and payments were extended to July 31, 

2020, for income, franchise, and moneys and credits taxes due on or after March 19, 2020, and before 

July 31, 2020.  The state tax return and payment deadlines subject to the extension include the following: 

individual, composite (nonresident partners), partnership, corporate, S corporation, fiduciary, franchise, 

and moneys and credits taxes.  Interest does not accrue against any unpaid taxes that are extended until 

August 1, 2020.  A taxpayer does not accrue late payment or underpayment penalties if the taxpayer 

complies with the extended filing and payment deadline.   

Iowa Small Business Relief Program.  The Iowa Small Business Relief Program allows a sales tax or 

withholding tax permit holder to apply to defer the payment of sales or withholding tax due.  In reviewing 

applications, the Department of Revenue considers if the business is in an industry that has suffered an 

economic loss due to COVID-19, if the business has suffered such a loss, and if the business is in good 

standing with the Department of Revenue.  If the Department of Revenue grants a deferral application, 

the taxpayer has 60 days after the original due date to pay the sales or withholding tax due without 

incurring penalties and interest.  Interest begins to accrue 61 days after the original due date of the 

deferred taxes.    

Unemployment Tax Payments.  First quarter unemployment tax payments by certain small-business 

employers due April 30, 2020, are delayed until the end of the second quarter, July 31, 2020.  Employers 

with 50 or fewer employees and who are in good standing with no delinquencies in quarterly 

unemployment tax payments are eligible for the program.  All eligible employers must file a Quarterly 

Employers Contribution and Payroll Report electronically by midnight on April 30, 2020, to avoid a late 

report filing penalty.  Unemployment tax payments for the first quarter are due when second quarter 

payments are due, which is July 31, 2020.  Interest and penalties do not accrue on delayed payments for 

eligible employers but begin to accrue August 1, 2020.  

Unemployment Insurance Claims.  A person laid off due to COVID-19, or who is required to stay home 

to self-isolate or care for family members due to illness related to COVID-19, is eligible to receive 

unemployment benefits, provided the person meets all other eligibility requirements.  Work search 
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requirements for unemployed persons have been temporarily waived.  Employees who are laid off, or are 

unable to work for reasons related to COVID-19, are no longer required to use all paid leave prior to being 

eligible for unemployment insurance benefits.  A person collecting unemployment who refuses to return to 

work is not eligible for unemployment benefits unless the person has tested positive for COVID-19 or 

does not have access to child care due to COVID-19. 

Property Tax.  The penalty and interest for the late payment of property tax due March 31, 2020, were 

waived.  The property tax payment due but not paid by March 31, 2020, will be classified as delinquent 

but a March 31, 2020, late payment does not accrue a late penalty and interest charge. 

Board of Review.  The Board of Review in each city and county is authorized to remain in session until 

June 15, 2020, to review property tax assessment protests.  The period for filing a protest with the Board 

of Review is extended to and includes May 25, 2020 to June 5, 2020.   

Withholding Tax.  For taxpayers who remit withholding tax on a semi-monthly basis, the deposit due 

date for the period ending March 15, 2020, was extended from March 25, 2020, to April 10, 2020.  

Interest does not accrue until April 11, 2020, against any unpaid taxes for which the due date was 

extended.  A taxpayer does not accrue late payment or underpayment penalties if the taxpayer complies 

with the extended payment deadline.   

Estimated Tax Payments.  For individual, corporate, or franchise taxpayers required to make estimated 

tax installment payments due for tax years that begin in 2020, there is conditional estimated tax 

underpayment penalty relief for installment payments due on or after April 30, 2020, and before July 31, 

2020.  A taxpayer who takes advantage of the underpayment penalty relief is required to make up the 

underpayments in future increased installments.  Failure to pay future increased required installments by 

the specified due date shall be considered an underpayment of estimated taxes for that particular 

installment.   

Beer Barrel and Wine Gallonage Taxes.  Reporting and remittance of beer barrel and wine gallonage 

taxes were deferred for the months of February, March, and April 2020.  The report and remittance of 

such taxes for the impacted months are due June 10, 2020.  The 10 percent penalty for late filing of the 

February, March, and April taxes were waived.   

Manufacturing of Hand Sanitizer.  The Alcoholic Beverages Division has taken the position that alcohol 

manufactured for use as hand sanitizer is not an “alcoholic liquor.”  Therefore, no regulations need to be 

waived and there are no additional requirements for Iowa liquor manufacturers and native distilleries. 

Small Business Relief Grants.  The Iowa Department of Economic Authority administered a program 

that provided grants to small businesses that have been impacted by COVID-19 ranging from $5,000 to 

$25,000.  The first phase application period for the program ended on March 31, 2020.  However, a 

second phase of the program was authorized through the federal CARES Act.  Grant award notifications 

began April 23, 2020, and will continue until all funds have been exhausted. 

College Savings Iowa.  Due to the extension of the state tax return filing deadline to July 31, 2020, a 

participant who makes a contribution on or before July 31, 2020, may elect to have made the contribution 

on the last day of the preceding calendar year. 

First-Time Homebuyer Savings Account.  Due to the extension of the state tax return filing deadline to 

July 31, 2020, an account holder who opens up a first-time homebuyer savings account in 2019 must 

designate the beneficiary of the first-time homebuyer savings account by July 31, 2020, rather than April 

30, 2020. 

Tax Sales.   Regulatory provisions were suspended that required a county treasurer to hold a tax sale for 
any parcel of property which had delinquent taxes, including provisions allowing the county treasurer to 
collect delinquent taxes by alternative forms of collection including personal judgment.   
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FEDERAL RESPONSE 

Tax Returns.  The filing of federal tax returns and payment deadlines were extended for all taxpayers 

who file and pay their federal income taxes by April 15, 2020.  The affected federal tax return deadlines 

were extended to July 15, 2020.  Penalties and interest do not accrue until July 16, 2020, against any 

unpaid taxes that were extended.   

Estimated Tax Payments.  Estimated tax payments for tax year 2020 that are due April 15 and June 15 

were each extended to July 15, 2020.   

FAMILIES FIRST CORONAVIRUS RESPONSE ACT (FFCRA) 

Sick or Family Leave.  The FFCRA requires certain employers to pay sick or family leave wages to 

employees who are unable to work or telework due to certain circumstances related to COVID-19.  

Employers are entitled to a refundable tax credit for the required leave paid, up to specified limits.   

CORONAVIRUS AID, RELIEF, AND ECONOMIC SECURITY ACT (CARES ACT) 

Paycheck Protection Program (PPP).  The PPP is a direct incentive for small businesses with 500 or 

fewer employees to maintain their employees on the payroll.  Businesses in certain industries with more 

than 500 employees in the aggregate, may also be eligible for the PPP if the business has 500 or fewer 

employees at one location.  Businesses may take out loans up to $10 million, limited by a formula tied to 

payroll costs, and may cover employees making up to $100,000 per year.  The loan amounts will be 

forgiven if 75 percent of the loan proceeds are used to cover payroll costs over an eight-week period after 

the loan is made, and employee compensation levels are maintained.  In addition to payroll costs, loans 

may be used for interest payments on mortgages, rent, and utilities.  If the loan is not forgiven, the fixed 

rate on the loan is 1 percent, all payments are deferred for six months, and the loan is due two years from 

issuance.   

Unemployment Compensation.  Temporary unemployment compensation is provided in the amount of 

$600 per week to each recipient for up to four months, which is in addition to regular state and federal 

unemployment insurance benefits.  Unemployment benefits were extended to self-employed workers, 

independent contractors, gig-economy workers, and those with limited work history.  If an employer 

receives a loan under the PPP and places a recipient of the temporary unemployment compensation 

back on the payroll on a full-time basis, the recipient is no longer eligible to receive the $600 a week 

temporary unemployment compensation.   

Employee Retention Credit.  The credit is available to all employers regardless of size.  Employers are 

eligible for a 50 percent refundable payroll tax credit on wages paid up to $10,000 per employee during 

2020.  Qualifying wages are based on the average number of employees of a business in 2019.  If the 

employer has 100 or fewer employees on average in 2019, the credit is based on wages paid to all 

employees, even if the employee is not currently providing services due to the COVID-19 crisis.  If the 

employer has more than 100 employees on average in 2019, then the credit is allowed only for wages 

paid to employees who did not provide services due to the COVID-19 crisis.  The wage calculation may 

include a portion of the cost of employer-provided health care.  The following are not eligible to receive 

the employee retention credit: state and local governments, self-employed persons, and businesses that 

participate in the PPP.    

Rebates (Refundable Tax Credit).   Taxpayers receive a $1,200 refundable tax credit for individuals and 

$2,400 for joint taxpayers. Additionally, taxpayers receive an additional $500 for each dependent child 

under 17 years of age.  The rebates are not taxable income for recipients, because the rebate is a credit 

against 2020 tax liability and is refundable for taxpayers with no tax liability to offset.  The rebate phases 

out beginning at $75,000 for single, $112,500 for head of household, and $150,000 for joint taxpayers.  

The rebate amount is reduced by $5 for each $100 that a taxpayer’s income exceeds the phaseout 

threshold.  The rebate phases out entirely at $99,000 for single taxpayers with no children and $198,000 
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for joint taxpayers with no children.  A taxpayer’s 2019 or 2018 tax return will be used to calculate the 

rebate, but taxpayers eligible for a larger rebate based on 2020 income will receive the rebate in the 2020 

tax season.  Taxpayers with higher incomes in 2020 will see the rebate overpayment forgiven.  

Charitable Contributions.  Taxpayers who do not itemize deductions are allowed, in addition to the 

standard deduction, a $300 deduction for charitable gifts on their 2020 federal income tax returns.  For 

taxpayers who do itemize deductions on their federal tax returns, the cap limiting the amount a donor may 

deduct in charitable gifts in a single year was eliminated for the 2020 tax year.  Thus, a donor may fully 

deduct charitable gifts equal to as much as 100 percent of adjusted gross income for the 2020 tax year.   

Withdrawals from Retirement Accounts.  There were significant changes made relating to withdrawing 

funds from retirement accounts.  First, participants under 59 1/2 years of age are allowed to make a 

withdrawal up to $100,000 without incurring the 10 percent early withdrawal penalty if the participant is 

facing an adverse impact from COVID-19.  Withdrawn amounts are taxable over three years, but 

participants may recontribute the withdrawn funds into their retirement accounts for three years without 

affecting annual retirement account contribution caps.  Eligible retirement accounts include individual 

retirement accounts, 401(k)s, certain deferred compensation plans, and qualified annuities.  Second, 

required minimum distributions (RMDs) from most retirement accounts are not required for calendar year 

2020 for participants who have reached 72 years of age.  Additionally, the recent federal SECURE Act 

increased the age a taxpayer is required to take a RMD from 70 1/2 years of age to 72 years of age.  

Third, the current retirement plan loan limit is doubled to the lesser of $100,000 or 100 percent of the 

participant’s vested account balance if the participant is facing COVID-19 challenges.    

Student Loan Payments.  There were two changes made related to student loans.  Borrowers on federal 

payment plans may suspend monthly payments through September 30, 2020, and the interest on the 

student loan does not accrue through September 30.  Additionally, employer payments of student 

loans on behalf of employees are excluded from the employee’s federal taxable income.  Employers may 

contribute up to $5,250 annually toward an employee’s student loans. 

Employer-side Payroll Tax Payments.  Employer-side payroll tax payments (Social Security and 

Medicare) due between March 27, 2020, and December 31, 2020, may be delayed, with 50 percent of the 

delayed amount due by December 31, 2021, and the other half due by December 31, 2022.  

Net Operating Loss (NOL).  Corporations may take a NOL earned in 2018, 2019, or 2020 and carry 

back those losses five years.  The NOL limit of 80 percent of taxable income is also suspended, so 

corporations may use a NOL to fully offset taxable income.  The bill also modifies excess loss limitations 

for non-corporate taxpayers which allows such taxpayers to fully offset taxable income by business losses 

for the 2018, 2019, and 2020 taxable years, even if losses are not related to COVID-19. 

Excise Tax Applied on Alcohol.  The federal excise tax applied on alcohol used to produce hand 

sanitizer is temporarily suspended for tax year 2020. 

Aviation Excise Taxes.  Federal aviation excise taxes are suspended until January 1, 2021.  
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