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Dramshop Insurance

Background

Dramshop insurance covers liabilities associated with the sale of alcohol, specifically for overservice
resulting in intoxication. Dramshop insurance has been a requirement for holding and maintaining an
lowa liquor license since 1963. During the online application process for licensing, the licensee’s
insurance carrier must provide dramshop policy information to the Alcoholic Beverages Division (ABD) of
the Department of Revenue. The dramshop insurance policy must remain in effect the entire licensure
period and must be updated annually upon renewal of the liquor license. Licensees that allow for on-
premises consumption are required to carry a minimum bodily injury or death coverage of $50,000 per
individual ($100,000 cumulative) and loss of support coverage of at least $25,000 per individual ($50,000
cumulative), as established in 185 IAC 5.8(2).

Policies cannot place an aggregate or cap on total settlements for the life of the policy. Only businesses
that serve alcohol for on-site consumption are required to hold dramshop insurance. Liquor stores,
convenience stores, and grocery stores are not required to have dramshop insurance.

The lowa Insurance Division (IID) is required to conduct an evaluation concerning minimum coverage
requirements of dramshop liability insurance in the State, including a comparison of other states’
minimum dramshop liability insurance coverage. In accordance with lowa Code section 505.33, the IID is
required to submit a report to the General Assembly every two years, as provided in lowa Code chapter
7A. The initial report was due January 31, 2019. The most recent report was due January 31, 2023.

Other States

Of the six states that border lowa, only Minnesota and lllinois statutorily require dramshop insurance.
Minnesota requires bodily injury coverage of at least $50,000 per individual ($100,000 cumulative), loss of
support coverage of at least $50,000 per individual ($100,000 cumulative), and pecuniary loss coverage
of at least $50,000 per individual ($100,000 cumulative). lllinois requires personal injury coverage of
approximately $83,000 minimum, property damage coverage of approximately $83,000 minimum, and
loss of support coverage of approximately $101,000 minimum.

Thirty states have statutory provisions that allow licensed establishments such as restaurants, bars, and
liquor stores to be held liable for selling or serving alcohol to individuals who cause injuries or death as a
result of their intoxication. Twenty-two of the 30 states statutorily limit the liability to cases where the
establishment sold or served alcohol to an obviously intoxicated individual or a person under the legal
drinking age. lowa does not limit liability to establishments overserving patrons who later cause injuries
or death as a result of their intoxication.

More Information

Department of Revenue, Alcoholic Beverages Division: abd.iowa.gov
lowa Insurance Division: iid.iowa.gov
LSA Staff Contacts: Xavier Leonard (515.725.0509) xavier.leonard@legis.iowa.gov
Molly Kilker (515.725.1286) molly.kilker@legis.iowa.gov
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Related Statutes

lowa Code section 123.92 — Civil liability for dispensing or sale and service of any alcoholic beverage
(Dramshop Act) — liability insurance — underage persons

lowa Code section 123.95 — Premises must be licensed — exception as to conventions and social
gatherings

lowa Code section 505.33 — Dramshop liability insurance evaluations
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