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Law Enforcement Officer Training 

Background  

All law enforcement training in the State of Iowa is performed or overseen by the Iowa Law Enforcement 
Academy (ILEA).  The ILEA, created in 1967, is located at Camp Dodge and provides training for law 
enforcement officers, correctional officers, telecommunicators, and reserve law enforcement officers.  
According to Iowa Code section 80B.2, the purpose of the ILEA is to “maximize training opportunities for 
law enforcement officers, to coordinate training and to set standards for the law enforcement service.”  
Additional information related to funding for ILEA training is available here.   

Law Enforcement Officer Qualifications  

An individual seeking to become a law enforcement officer must meet certain minimum standards as 
presented in 501 IAC 2.  These standards include the following: 

• Be at least 18 years of age. 

• Be a resident of Iowa. 

• Have a valid Iowa driver’s license or chauffeur’s license.   

• Do not have an addiction to drugs or alcohol.   

• Be of good moral character and have not committed certain crimes.   

• Have passed a physical fitness test. 

• Do not oppose the use of force, by reason of conscience or belief, when necessary to fulfill law 
enforcement duties.   

• Meet hearing and eyesight standards specified in 501 IAC 2.1(10).   

• Possess a high school diploma or equivalent.   

• Meet the physical requirements necessary to fulfill the responsibilities of a law enforcement officer as 
determined by a licensed physician or surgeon.   

• Have not been previously decertified in another jurisdiction and have not committed any act that could 
result in decertification.   

• Have performed satisfactorily in preemployment psychological tests.   

An individual elected or appointed as sheriff may choose to be exempted from the physical fitness 
minimum standards and, as a result, receive a certification limited to the sheriff’s current position.  Law 
enforcement agencies and Regional Academies may establish additional training standards.   

Training Courses 

Depending on an individual’s experience, law enforcement training may be conducted through a short 
course pursuant to 501 IAC 3.6, or a long course pursuant to 501 IAC 3.5.  Each long course must 
consist of at least 620 hours to be completed within a 25-week period and is required for most recruits.  
Each short course consists of at least 400 hours to be completed within a 20-week period and is available 
if the individual has completed any of the following:   

More Information 
 

Iowa Law Enforcement Academy:  ilea.iowa.gov  
LSA Staff Contact:  Evan Johnson (515.281.6301) evan.johnson@legis.iowa.gov 

   

 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/chapter/07-27-2022.501.9.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/chapter/07-27-2022.501.13.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/chapter/07-27-2022.501.10.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/80B.2.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/FT/1285116.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/chapter/07-27-2022.501.2.pdf
https://ilea.iowa.gov/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/Form-PTStandards-2022.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/01-12-2022.501.2.1.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/03-23-2022.501.3.6.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/03-23-2022.501.3.5.pdf
https://ilea.iowa.gov/
mailto:evan.johnson@legis.iowa.gov
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• A two-year or four-year degree in police science or criminal justice with at least 20 credit hours 
dedicated to those subjects.   

• Law enforcement training in another state in accordance with the ILEA basic training requirements.   

• Military police training.   

• The Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) new agent training course or a similar course of instruction.   

ILEA Training 

The ILEA Basic Academy is a 630-hour-long course over a 16-week period.  Recruits attend the Basic 
Academy after being hired or sponsored by an Iowa law enforcement agency.  At the completion of 
training, recruits are certified as law enforcement officers.  The Basic Academy trains new recruits in the 
following eight focus areas based on the current curriculum:   

Foundations of American Policing (21 hours) 
This includes training on unbiased policing practices, court organization, and ethics.   

Communication Skills (39 hours) 
This includes training on report writing and investigative note taking, verbal defense and influence, and 
interviews and interrogations.   

Life Skills (124 hours) 
This includes physical, emergency care provider, and crisis intervention training.   

Legal Topics (67 hours) 
This includes training on searches and seizures, criminal law, and motor vehicle law.   

Patrol Procedures (55 hours) 
This includes training on hazardous materials, felony calls in progress, and Advanced Law Enforcement 
Rapid Response Training (ALERRT).  

Investigations (113 hours) 
This includes training on collision investigations, domestic violence, and operating while intoxicated (OWI) 
enforcement.   

Tactical Skills (188 hours) 
This includes training on firearms, defensive tactics, and vehicle operations.   

Administrative (21 hours) 
This includes orientation, examinations, and graduation.   

Regional Academies 

Law enforcement training may also take place at one of the five Regional Academies in the State.  The 
ILEA is responsible for approving the training curriculum for each of the following academies: 

• Department of Public Safety (DPS) Academy 

• Cedar Rapids Police Academy 

• Des Moines Police Academy 

• Hawkeye Community College Police Academy 

• Western Iowa Technical Community College Police Academy 

The DPS, Cedar Rapids, and Des Moines academies offer long courses that range from 17 to 22 weeks 
in length.  After graduating from an academy, cadets begin serving as law enforcement officers in their 
respective police departments.  The DPS Academy graduates also complete field training, which ranges 
from approximately 1 to 12 months depending on the officer’s position.  The Hawkeye Community 
College and Western Iowa Technical Community College academies offer short courses in conjunction 
with degrees in criminal justice and police science.   

  

https://ilea.iowa.gov/basic-academy/
https://dps.iowa.gov/divisions/administrative-services/dps-careers/academy
https://www.cedar-rapids.org/local_government/departments_g_-_v/police/employment.php
https://www.dsm.city/departments/human_resources/police_department_recruitment.php
https://www.hawkeyecollege.edu/business-community/continuing-education/law-enforcement/iowa-law-enforcement-academy
http://catalog.witcc.edu/preview_program.php?catoid=9&poid=1993&returnto=715
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Certification Through Examination (CTE) 

A law enforcement officer certified in another state can become certified in Iowa if the requirements of the 
CTE program are met pursuant to 501 IAC 3.8.  In order to obtain Iowa certification, an out-of-state officer 
must complete all of the following:   

• Be employed by a recognized Iowa law enforcement agency.   

• Submit an application for the CTE program.  Applications received after the first 120 days may result 
in needing to attend an ILEA training course.   

• Submit documents showing out-of-state certification as a peace officer.   

• Complete the following training courses: 

• Operating While Intoxicated/Standard Field Sobriety Training. 

• Iowa Law Enforcement Emergency Care Provider (ILEECP) Training.  The ILEECP course is not 
required if the applicant is certified as an Emergency Medical Responder.   

• Pass the firearms qualification.   

• Pass the CTE examination.  The CTE examination is a comprehensive written examination based on 
common law enforcement practices and rules.  The long examination, focusing on all phases of law 
enforcement, consists of 33 tests administered to those with less than five years of experience as a 
certified officer.  The short examination, primarily used to test the officer’s knowledge of Iowa law, 
consists of 17 tests administered to those with five or more years of experience as a certified officer.   

An applicant who fails to pass the CTE examination must retest within 60 days.  An applicant who fails a 
second time must complete training at the ILEA covering the failed areas.  An Iowa certification will not be 
granted if an applicant’s out-of-state certification has been revoked or suspended or the applicant is under 
disciplinary review.   

Mandatory In-Service and Specialty Training 

In-service training is required after becoming certified as a law enforcement officer.  All regular law 
enforcement officers must receive the following in-service training approved by the ILEA:  

• Annual firearms qualification training.   

• Annual hazard communications training in accordance with Occupational Safety and Health 
Administration (OSHA) standards.   

• Annual bloodborne pathogens training in accordance with OSHA standards.   

• Annual implicit bias and de-escalation training pursuant to Iowa Code section 80B.11G.   

• Annual mental health training pursuant to Iowa Code section 80B.11(1)(c)(3).   

• National Crime Information Center (NCIC) certification by the FBI every two years.   

• Hazardous materials training in accordance with OSHA standards every three years.   

• Mandatory reporter training on child and dependent adult abuse every three years.   

• Cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), automated external defibrillator (AED), and foreign body 
airway obstruction training for all age groups in accordance with standards defined by the 
International Liaison Committee on Resuscitation upon expiration of the officer’s certification.   

In addition to those listed above, all regular law enforcement officers must receive a minimum of 12 hours 
of law enforcement-related in-service training per year.  Further training is provided to officers who 
conduct or supervise an investigation into a complaint of another law enforcement officer pursuant to  
501 IAC 8.5.   

Any law enforcement officer who leaves law enforcement for more than 12 months and returns must 
complete additional in-service training pursuant to 501 IAC 8.3.  The time frame requirements for 
mandatory training are tolled during the period a law enforcement officer is called to active military 
service.   

Related Statutes 

Iowa Code chapter 80B 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/04-21-2021.501.3.8.pdf
https://ilea.iowa.gov/inservice-training/
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/80B.11G.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/80B.11.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/03-23-2022.501.8.5.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/03-23-2022.501.8.3.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/80B.pdf
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Iowa Administrative Code chapter 501 
 
 
Doc ID 1293511 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/agency/08-24-2022.501.pdf

