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Dramshop Insurance 

Background 

Dramshop insurance covers liabilities associated with the sale of alcohol, specifically for over-service 
resulting in intoxication.  Dramshop insurance has been a requirement for holding and maintaining an 
Iowa liquor license since 1963.  During the online application process for licensing, the licensee’s 
insurance carrier must provide dramshop policy information to the Alcoholic Beverages Division (ABD).  
The dramshop insurance policy must remain in effect the entire licensure period and must be updated 
annually upon renewal of the liquor license.  Licensees that allow for on-premises consumption are 
required to carry a minimum bodily injury or death coverage of $50,000 per individual ($100,000 
cumulative) and loss of support coverage of at least $25,000 per individual ($50,000 cumulative).   
 
Policies cannot place an aggregate or cap on total settlements for the life of the policy.  Only businesses 
that serve alcohol by the glass are required to hold dramshop insurance.  Liquor stores, convenience 
stores, and grocery stores are not required to have dramshop insurance.  
 
The ABD is required to conduct an evaluation concerning minimum coverage requirements of dramshop 
liability insurance in the State, including a comparison of other states’ minimum dramshop liability 
insurance coverage.  In accordance with Iowa Code section 505.33, the ABD is required to submit a 
report to the General Assembly every two years, as provided in Iowa Code chapter 7A.  The initial report 
was due January 31, 2019.  The most recent report was due January 31, 2021. 
 
Other States 

Of the six states that border Iowa, only Minnesota and Illinois statutorily require dramshop insurance.  
Minnesota requires bodily injury coverage of at least $50,000 per individual ($100,000 cumulative), loss of 
support coverage of at least $50,000 per individual ($100,000 cumulative), and pecuniary loss coverage 
of at least $50,000 per individual ($100,000 cumulative).  Illinois requires personal injury coverage of 
approximately $78,000 minimum, property damage coverage of approximately $78,000 minimum, and 
loss of support coverage of approximately $95,000 minimum.  
 
Thirty states have statutory provisions that allow licensed establishments such as restaurants, bars, and 
liquor stores to be held liable for selling or serving alcohol to individuals who cause injuries or death as a 
result of their intoxication.  Twenty-two of the 30 states statutorily limit the liability to cases where the 
establishment sold or served alcohol to an obviously intoxicated individual or a person under the legal 
drinking age.  Iowa does not limit liability to establishments over-serving patrons who later cause injuries 
or death as a result of their intoxication. 
 

Related Statutes 

Iowa Code section 123.92 — Civil liability for dispensing or sale and service of any alcoholic beverage 
(Dramshop Act) — liability insurance — underage persons. 

More Information 
 

Department of Commerce, Alcoholic Beverages Division:  abd.iowa.gov 
LSA Staff Contact:  Xavier Leonard (515.725.0509) xavier.leonard@legis.iowa.gov 

   

 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/505.33.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/7A.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/DF/1221602.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/123.92.pdf
https://abd.iowa.gov/
mailto:xavier.leonard@legis.iowa.gov
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Iowa Code section 123.95 — Premises must be licensed — exception as to conventions and social 
gatherings. 

Iowa Code section 505.33 — Dramshop liability insurance evaluations. 
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