

Historical Tables of the Iowa Legislature

1857 Iowa Constitutional Convention Members

Iowa's third constitutional convention convened in Iowa City on January 19, 1857.

Iowa's third proposed constitution was adopted in convention on March 5, 1857, and adopted by the voters on August 3, 1857, by a vote of 40,311 to 38,681. The constitution was declared by Governor James W. Grimes by proclamation issued on September 3, 1857, to be the supreme law of the State of Iowa. The document proposed by the 1857 convention is the current, original Constitution of the State of Iowa.

Home County
Van Buren
Washington
Allamakee
Johnson
Henry
Clinton
Van Buren
Lucas
Scott
Dubuque
Marion
Wapello
Cedar
Linn
Des Moines
Appanoose
Keokuk
Lee
Jones
Davis

1857 Iowa Constitutional Convention Members

Name	Home County
John A. Parvin	Muscatine
William Patterson	Lee
John H. Peters	Delaware
Daniel W. Price	Pottawattamie
Moses W. Robinson	Des Moines
Alpheus Scott	Clayton
Thomas Seeley	Guthrie
Harvey J. Skiff	Jasper
Daniel H. Solomon	Mills
Francis Springer	Louisa
Lewis Todhunter	Warren
James C. Traer	Benton
William A. Warren	Jackson
James F. Wilson	Jefferson
Sheldon G. Winchester	Hardin
James A. Young	Mahaska