372.1 Forms of cities.

The forms of city government are:

- 1. Mayor-council, or mayor-council with appointed manager.
- 2. Commission.
- 3. Council-manager-at-large.
- 4. Council-manager-ward.
- 5. Home rule charter.
- 6. Special charter.
- 7. City-county consolidated form as provided in sections 331.247 through 331.252.
- 8. Community commonwealth as provided in sections 331.260 through 331.263.

A city when first incorporated has the mayor-council form. A city retains its form of government until it adopts a different form as provided in this division.

Within thirty days of the date that this section becomes effective, a city shall adopt by ordinance a charter embodying its existing form of government, which must be one of the forms provided in this division, and shall file a copy of its charter with the secretary of state, and maintain copies available for public inspection.

 $[C54,\,58,\,62,\,66,\,71,\,73,\,\$363.1,\,\bar{3}63.30;\,C\bar{7}5,\,77,\,79,\,81,\,\$372.1]$ 2004 Acts, ch 1066, $\$29,\,31$ Referred to in $\$372.2,\,372.12$