216A.112 Commission created.

A commission on the deaf is established, consisting of seven members appointed by the governor, subject to confirmation by the senate. Lists of nominees for appointment to membership on the commission may be submitted by the Iowa association of the deaf, the Iowa state registry of interpreters for the deaf, the Iowa school for the deaf, and the commission of persons with disabilities. At least four members shall be persons who are deaf and who cannot hear human speech with or without use of amplification and at least one member who is hard of hearing. All members shall reside in Iowa. The members of the commission shall appoint the chairperson of the commission. A majority of the members of the commission constitutes a quorum.

Terms of office are three years and shall begin and end pursuant to section 69.19. The commission shall adopt rules concerning programs and services for deaf and hard-of-hearing persons.

Commission members shall be reimbursed for actual expenses incurred in performance of their duties. Members may also be eligible to receive compensation as provided in section 7E.6.

86 Acts, ch 1245, \$1251 C87, \$601K.112 87 Acts, ch 58, \$1; 87 Acts, ch 115, \$74 C93, \$216A.112 93 Acts, ch 75, \$3; 95 Acts, ch 212, \$11 Confirmation, see \$2.32