216A.132 Council established terms compensation.

A criminal and juvenile justice planning advisory council is established consisting of twenty-two members. The governor shall appoint seven members each for a four-year term beginning and ending as provided in section 69.19 and subject to confirmation by the senate as follows:

1. Three persons, each of whom is a county supervisor, county sheriff, mayor, city chief of police, or county attorney.

2. Two persons who represent the general public and are not employed in any law enforcement, judicial, or corrections capacity.

3. Two persons who are knowledgeable about Iowa's juvenile justice system.

The departments of human services, corrections, and public safety, the division on the status of African-Americans, the division of substance abuse of the Iowa department of public health, the chairperson of the board of parole, the attorney general, the state public defender, and the chief justice of the supreme court shall each designate a person to serve on the council.

The chief justice of the supreme court shall appoint two additional members currently serving as district judges. Two members of the senate and two members of the house of representatives shall be ex officio members and shall be appointed by the majority and minority leaders of the senate and the speaker and minority leader of the house of representatives pursuant to section 69.16. Members appointed pursuant to this paragraph shall serve for four-year terms beginning and ending as provided in section 69.19 unless the member ceases to serve as a district court judge or as a member of the senate or of the house of representatives.

Members of the council shall receive reimbursement from the state for actual and necessary expenses incurred in the performance of their official duties. Members may also be eligible to receive compensation as provided in section 7E.6.

88 Acts, ch 1277, §15

C89, § 601K.132

90 Acts, ch 1124, § 2

C93, § 216A.132

Footnotes

Confirmation, see § 2.32