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Rulemaking related to continuing education

The Board of Veterinary Medicine hereby rescinds Chapter 11, “Continuing Education,” Iowa
Administrative Code, and adopts a new chapter with the same title.

Legal Authority for Rulemaking
This rulemaking is adopted under the authority provided in lowa Code section 169.5.
State or Federal Law Implemented
This rulemaking implements, in whole or in part, lowa Code chapters 169 and 272C.
Purpose and Summary

This rulemaking updates the Board’s continuing education (CE) rules by removing outdated or
redundant provisions that are covered by statute.

Public Comment and Changes to Rulemaking

Notice of Intended Action for this rulemaking was published in the lowa Administrative Bulletin
on January 24, 2024, as ARC 7566C. Public hearings were held on February 29 and March 8, 2024, at
10 a.m. at the Wallace State Office Building, Second Floor Boardroom, 502 East 9th Street, Des Moines,
Iowa. No one attended the public hearings.

Commenters requested additional flexibility for distance/online CE credit. —The Board has
incorporated this into this rulemaking by adding an additional ten hours of distance/online CE credit.

Adoption of Rulemaking
This rulemaking was adopted by the Board on April 25, 2024.
Fiscal Impact
This rulemaking has no fiscal impact to the State of lowa.
Jobs Impact
After analysis and review of this rulemaking, no impact on jobs has been found.
Waivers

Any person who believes that the application of the discretionary provisions of this rulemaking would
result in hardship or injustice to that person may petition the Board for a waiver of the discretionary
provisions, if any, pursuant to 811—Chapter 14.

Review by Administrative Rules Review Committee

The Administrative Rules Review Committee, a bipartisan legislative committee which oversees
rulemaking by executive branch agencies, may, on its own motion or on written request by any individual
or group, review this rulemaking at its regular monthly meeting or at a special meeting. The Committee’s
meetings are open to the public, and interested persons may be heard as provided in lowa Code section
17A.8(6).


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/committees/meetings/meetingsListComm?groupID=705&ga=90

Effective Date
This rulemaking will become effective on July 1, 2024.

The following rulemaking action is adopted:

ITEM 1. Rescind 811—Chapter 11 and adopt the following new chapter in lieu thereof:

CHAPTER 11
CONTINUING EDUCATION

811—11.1(169) Continuing education necessary for a veterinary licensee.

11.1(1) Within the last three licensing years, each licensee is to complete at least 60 hours of
continuing education in courses approved by the board as a condition for license renewal. The licensee
has financial responsibility for the cost of continuing education. These credit hours may be obtained by
attending board-approved scientific or practice management seminars and meetings on the basis of one
credit hour for each hour of attendance. Attendance at any approved national, state or regional meeting
or RACE-approved meeting will be acceptable. One hour of credit may be approved for local meetings
where a scientific paper is presented. Credit for qualified graduate college courses may be approved
on the basis of multiplying each college credit hour by 10, to a maximum of 30 hours during any one
triennial license period. A maximum of 30 hours during any one triennial license period of continuing
education may be achieved by completion of approved distance education courses. A maximum of 20
hours of continuing education during any one triennial license period may be achieved by completion
of approved practice management courses.

11.1(2) To qualify for license renewal, each licensee is to obtain the 60 credit hours between July 1
of the year the license was issued and June 30 of the following third year. Continuing education credits
in excess of 60 hours for any three-year license period may be carried over to the next triennial license
period, but the total number of credit hours carried over cannot exceed 20 hours.

11.1(3) A recent graduate is exempt from meeting continuing education requirements at the time of
original licensure and for the first year of practice. For the purpose of this rule, “recent graduate” means
a person who has graduated from an accredited or approved school of veterinary medicine, or received
a certificate from the ECFVG or PAVE no more than three years prior to application for licensure. If
a recent graduate is licensed during the first year of the triennial license period, the licensee needs to
complete 40 hours of continuing education for the first license renewal. If a recent graduate is licensed
during the second year of the triennial license period, the licensee needs to complete 20 hours of
continuing education for the first license renewal. If a recent graduate is licensed during the third year
of the triennial license period, the licensee is exempt from meeting continuing education requirements
for the first license renewal.

11.1(4) Completion of the continuing education requirement will be reported to the secretary of the
board, on a form provided by the board, at the time of license renewal. The form is to be signed by the
licensee and be accompanied by renewal application and the proper renewal fee.

11.1(5) The board may waive continuing education requirements for qualifying military service
personnel upon request.

811—11.2(169) Exemptions for an inactive veterinary licensee. A licensee residing within or outside
Iowa who is not engaged in practice in the state of lowa may be granted a waiver of compliance and
obtain a certificate of exemption upon paying the annual license renewal fee. The licensee is to provide
a written application to the board that includes a statement that the applicant will not engage in the
practice of veterinary medicine in lowa without first complying with all the rules governing reactivation
after exemption. The application for a certificate of exemption is to be submitted on a form provided by
the board.

811—11.3(169) Reactivation of license. A veterinarian whose license has lapsed or been placed on
inactive status is to provide evidence of completion of a total number of hours of accredited continuing
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education computed by multiplying 20 by the number of years since the date of the last issuance of the
license for which reactivation is sought.
These rules are intended to implement lowa Code chapters 169 and 272C.
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